Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I have tried many recipies for fried oysters and this is by far the very best and the easiest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI HINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I used belgium waffle mix and just dipped them in the mix. this was absolutely incredible! I really love the sweet breading. I used cornmeal on a few to see the difference, and the waffle mix was much better by far with its light sweetness. adds the real "yesss" to this dish. I've been eating fried oysters for years and never had em' this good. Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
This gave me some of the most satisfying fried oysters I've ever had. And it is so easy. A huge hit on Valentine's Day. But, I'll be using this recipe lots. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I live in the Chesapeake Bay area and over the years was blessed to have loved ones and friends who fried oysters in season and I got spoiled. They've all gone now and while I can buy them out I missed the homemade ones. I saw this recipe and it was so simple I decided to give it a try. WOW!! My son and I had a pint last night for supper. When I saw that Dorsey lives in Salisbury and he used Old Bay in the recipe I was sure he knew his stuff. Dorsey, many thanks to you and your mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This fried oyster recipe is by far the best we've tried! I'm a HUGE oyster fan and try them everywhere I go and these top most of the restaurant versions I've had! We love that the breading is so light and crispy and it really couldn't be easier to make. We've used this recipe many times and the oysters always turn out fantastic. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It's simple.. but the flavor and texture is not what I was looking for. I fried them in hot oil.. but they were mushy at the end. Probably a corn meal, flour and potatoe flakes mixture would have made them crispy and more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2002
This was my first time to cook and eat fried oysters. It was very easy to prepare and simply delicious.Iused 1 tsp. of salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper. Thanks, Dorsey. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Really liked this recipe, takes all the time and mess out of how I usually do it (crackered) and I thought they tasted much better this way. So simple to do and very flavorful. Thanks so much for sharing, I will use this batter for lots of stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It was very easy and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biker Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Sorry folks but on the Crunch Meter I would only give these a 2. They had about the same crispness and texture as a barely browned piece of toast. Maybe it was the levening in the pancake batter. My oil was EXACTLy he right temp and I cooked the oysters to medium brown. I was hoping for something more crunchy, maybe even like a KFC crunchy chicken piece. Eatable but don't put a smile on your face.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States