Dorsey's Fried Oysters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Best fried oysters I have ever tasted! Followed the recipe exactly, using Bisquick flour. As delicious as it is easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I think the pancake mix is just too bland for the oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
This fried oyster recipe is by far the best we've tried! I'm a HUGE oyster fan and try them everywhere I go and these top most of the restaurant versions I've had! We love that the breading is so light and crispy and it really couldn't be easier to make. We've used this recipe many times and the oysters always turn out fantastic. Thank you so much for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It's simple.. but the flavor and texture is not what I was looking for. I fried them in hot oil.. but they were mushy at the end. Probably a corn meal, flour and potatoe flakes mixture would have made them crispy and more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Omigosh! These were so yummy! Hubby and I had them for supper instead of using as an appetizer. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thank you, Dorsey! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were good but we prefer our cornmeal/flour mixture,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
My husband & I thought too much batter clung to the oysters. I may have done something wrong, but I don't know what. We'll keep searching for a fried oyster recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I used belgium waffle mix and just dipped them in the mix. this was absolutely incredible! I really love the sweet breading. I used cornmeal on a few to see the difference, and the waffle mix was much better by far with its light sweetness. adds the real "yesss" to this dish. I've been eating fried oysters for years and never had em' this good. Thank you sooo much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
My husband loves fried oysters and wanted them on Christmas Eve, but with everything else I had to do, I dreaded the batter-making and all. Then I found this recipe! Wonderful! He loved the flavor and I loved the convenience. (Oh, I loved the oysters, too!) Thank you for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I served these as an appetiser before Thanksgiving dinner. This recipe was so so easy and tasted great. The coating was not too thick, but just right and easy to crisp up. I doubled the recipe, cooked about 6 at a time and the trick is to add extra oil when it gets too low or too many particles built up in the pan. I have made fried oysters many times and will only use this recipe from now on. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

How to Make Oysters Rockefeller

See how to make a rich, decadent Oysters Rockefeller appetizer!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States