Dorsey's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Just to let you know this cream of crab soup is the best I've had. I did change a few things but it turned out fantastic and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This soup was incredible! I did however omit the onions and celery, add 2c fresh asparagus, 2c fresh string beans, and the corn off of two cobs. I don't know if it's b/c i added all the veggies or not but my consistency was perfect and creamy. Also I did add extra crab 1/2 fresh, and half imitation cause thats what i had. I did use all the recommended old bay cause i like salty stuff, but if you don't i wouldn't. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
The absolute best! My parents live on the eastern shore of MD an love this the best! I took this into work in Baltimore and the staff of 18 flipped out! All my Baltimore crab lovers wanted this smooth rich recipe! It's FLY as my teenagers say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Yum, Yum, Yum! DO NOT skimp on the half and half, I use heavy cream in mine. This is a great recipe and it leaves you enough leeway to improvise you want to. It's wonderful just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I use the recipe with a few changes, no water only broth, use two potatoes, dash of cayenne, worcheshire instead of soy sauce, more heavy cream than half/half & two garlic cloves. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by husbandwhocooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winterville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have been making this soup for several years, tweaking it ever-so slightly each time I make it. This year I made it for our family Christmas dinner and everyone just raved about it. My daughter-in-law even suggested that I make it and sell it. Kudos to this soup and its contributor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
WOW! No changes at all, was perfect. Brought into work and someone thought it was leftovers from a restaurant! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years, and with a few modifications it is one of my favorite! Instead of the chicken broth+ soup base+ water, I just use a big box of low sodium chicken broth to make it easier. I also add two cans of chopped clams. Drain one, and use the clam juice from the other. This adds great flavor and more salt. Red potatoes and red onions make the soup more colorful. Steam your own crab legs and use the time the potatoes are cooking to de-shell the meat. It makes for much better flavor and bigger chunks of crab in the soup than if you use canned crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeramonius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I always like to try recipes as written the first time, but it was apparent that this was going to be too watery. I used chicken stock, left out the water, and thickened the celery, butter and onion mixture with a couple extra tablespoons of flour. I added two extra potatoes, and used about two and a half cups of whipping cream instead of the half and half. Seasonings I used were Worcestershire sauce instead of the soy sauce, a little chopped fresh basil, additional Old Bay, and a dash of cayenne pepper. The result was fantastic; thick and creamy, everything a good "Ball-mer" Cream of Crab soup should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
As with other reviewers, I left out a lot of the water and added it at the end to achieve the consistency I wanted. Also, I steamed the potatoes so they were tender-crisp and addded them at the same time as the crab meat. More Old Bay does the trick! If not for too much water and too few seasonings, this would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warrington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States