Dorsey's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I always like to try recipes as written the first time, but it was apparent that this was going to be too watery. I used chicken stock, left out the water, and thickened the celery, butter and onion mixture with a couple extra tablespoons of flour. I added two extra potatoes, and used about two and a half cups of whipping cream instead of the half and half. Seasonings I used were Worcestershire sauce instead of the soy sauce, a little chopped fresh basil, additional Old Bay, and a dash of cayenne pepper. The result was fantastic; thick and creamy, everything a good "Ball-mer" Cream of Crab soup should be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
The recipe calls for far too much water. Award winning crab soup has a velvety texture. This soup is running, and had very little texture. The taste is passable, but with other recipes not half as running, I wold avoid this one. Texture is very important in crab soup and this recipe has almost none. If you decide to make it, the actual cooking time will be 2-3 times longer than the recipe calls for while you are trying to reduce all that water. Then things get overcooked, pot boils over, etc. This is one to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Sounds good. It takes a while to gather all the seafood and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I might try this recipe again but I do believe I will just omit the water and double the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I have been using this recipe for years, and with a few modifications it is one of my favorite! Instead of the chicken broth+ soup base+ water, I just use a big box of low sodium chicken broth to make it easier. I also add two cans of chopped clams. Drain one, and use the clam juice from the other. This adds great flavor and more salt. Red potatoes and red onions make the soup more colorful. Steam your own crab legs and use the time the potatoes are cooking to de-shell the meat. It makes for much better flavor and bigger chunks of crab in the soup than if you use canned crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeramonius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Yum, Yum, Yum! DO NOT skimp on the half and half, I use heavy cream in mine. This is a great recipe and it leaves you enough leeway to improvise you want to. It's wonderful just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
The absolute best! My parents live on the eastern shore of MD an love this the best! I took this into work in Baltimore and the staff of 18 flipped out! All my Baltimore crab lovers wanted this smooth rich recipe! It's FLY as my teenagers say!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I must have done something wrong because when I added the flour into the sauteed onions, there was no liquid left. I continued making it, but later, I added a lot of cornstarch and water to thicken up the soup. It turned into a thick chowder that was really very good. It took constant stirring while I was adding the thickeners, so that took a lot of time. Since I don't know what "chicken base" is, I added 3-4 cubes of chicken bouillion. I figured it was close enough. It really turned out tasty. It was my very first "seafood" dish and my family and friends gave it a "10"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This recipe should really be called crab chowder, not cream of crab soup. I was looking for something more along the lines of crab bisque, which wouldn't have had the parsley and vegetables. Guess it was a poor choice of recipe on my part in that it wasn't exactly what I was looking for. Still, I found it to be tasty, yet a little bit on the thin side. For me, it was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
With some 'tweaking", this recipe has potential. I added cooked bacon and shoepeg corn and left out the water. For liquids, I used chicken stock and heavy cream. When serving the chowder, my husband and I put on several dashes of Tabasco sauce since we like things a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States