Dorsey's Cream of Crab Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
Sounds good. It takes a while to gather all the seafood and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
It was good. I makes it during the winter months. It's so good I pass it along to my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2001
I must have done something wrong because when I added the flour into the sauteed onions, there was no liquid left. I continued making it, but later, I added a lot of cornstarch and water to thicken up the soup. It turned into a thick chowder that was really very good. It took constant stirring while I was adding the thickeners, so that took a lot of time. Since I don't know what "chicken base" is, I added 3-4 cubes of chicken bouillion. I figured it was close enough. It really turned out tasty. It was my very first "seafood" dish and my family and friends gave it a "10"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
The recipe calls for far too much water. Award winning crab soup has a velvety texture. This soup is running, and had very little texture. The taste is passable, but with other recipes not half as running, I wold avoid this one. Texture is very important in crab soup and this recipe has almost none. If you decide to make it, the actual cooking time will be 2-3 times longer than the recipe calls for while you are trying to reduce all that water. Then things get overcooked, pot boils over, etc. This is one to avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
I have to agree with Creme on the water. There was way too much liquid in it at the end. I poured some of it off. That being said, its a very good recipe. I personally like my seafood a bit more...fiery? So I added more OLD BAY than the recipe called for. Next time I will try adding cayenne instead. It is worth making for sure. Specially for those that dont like alot of heat or spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARFISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Demopolis, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Just to let you know this cream of crab soup is the best I've had. I did change a few things but it turned out fantastic and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This soup was incredible! I did however omit the onions and celery, add 2c fresh asparagus, 2c fresh string beans, and the corn off of two cobs. I don't know if it's b/c i added all the veggies or not but my consistency was perfect and creamy. Also I did add extra crab 1/2 fresh, and half imitation cause thats what i had. I did use all the recommended old bay cause i like salty stuff, but if you don't i wouldn't. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
With some 'tweaking", this recipe has potential. I added cooked bacon and shoepeg corn and left out the water. For liquids, I used chicken stock and heavy cream. When serving the chowder, my husband and I put on several dashes of Tabasco sauce since we like things a bit spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Really good. Didn't have Old Bay seasoning so substituted a combo of mustard, paprika, black pepper, cloves, worcestershire and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
EXCELLENT recipe! i used worchestershire instead of soy and it gave it a little something that appealed to me and my loved ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States