Dorothy's Stefado Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
WOW an Army lives at your house! The recipe is delicious I cut it down for "two old folks" and used Marzetti cocktail onions in the jar adding a little of the vinegar juice in which also lends more flavor. The recipe is delicious and we thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This was a nice addition to switch up the standards in my kitchen! The family found it very tasty and enjoyed the different flavors. Adding a RF Crumbled Feta was a nice surprise to the taste buds on top of the beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I am Greek and have had this dish many times as a child. I always remember this dish having a tomato base which was rich with flavor and thick. This recipe gives you a beefywatery base - no red tomato color. i am questioning the picture as it looks like there are tomatos in it. My family thought this tastes pretty good, but question the color. Maybe I can add some tomato sauce to see if this will improve the flavor/appearance. I used my crockpot on low for 12 hours. Easy recipe to follow. Would I make it again? It's missing something. It might be the addition of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this recipe is delicious, soo savory. I was looking 4 a recipe for skirt steak, but used this instead and it came out wonderful. I used regular yellow onions because I didn't have the pearl ones, otherwise I followed the recipe as written. I highly recomend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Are we talking about pearl onions or shallots??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I thought this was very savory and yummy. My hubby isn't a fan of cinnamon...so I may leave that out of it next time. I just used a coffee filter and some string for a spice pouch and it worked wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yanni's
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Kathy, Thank you for posting your mom's Stefado, I think it is wonderful. I made a batch with half the amount of meat and onions, but left the rest of the ingrediants as written. It was fabulous with the fresh french bread for soaking the sauce. I have made this stew for years with all kinds of meat such as lamb, venison, rabbit, chicken and of course beef. From a 65 year old greek man that cooks better than most...Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Good recipe! If you don't have pickling spice, you can make it yourself. The main ingredients are: cinnamon, mustard seed, bay leaves, allspice, dill seed, cloves, ginger, peppercorns, coriander, juniper berries, mace, and cardamom. So put a bit of all this, and you've got it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Great recipe from Dorothy! She's got more than 200 others - Greek & American - in her book, From Our Hearts to Your Table - Recipes from a Greek American Family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Personally I found it was too oniony for my taste. My boyfriend thought it was to die for though, ate it cold. I replaced the cinnamon stick with several tablespoons of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Bourguignon without the Burgundy

See how to make a classic French stew braised in red wine.

Hungarian Goulash I

Cubes of beef simmer in a mildly spicy paprika, garlic, and onion sauce.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States