Dorothy Lynch® Style Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This does taste like "Dorothy Lynch" dressing. Great on taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Childs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This recipe is absolutely amazing. My husband loves Dorothy lynch so I was skeptical but he didn't even notice it wasn't his usual salad dressing. I did use 1 tablespoon of cornstarch. It turned out the perfect texture. The second time I made it I used slightly less vinegar and slightly more sugar and I added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. Then I pulsed it in the blender and this is now our favorite salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I made this to go on the Chicken Fiesta Salad (recipe also on AR) per the recommendation of other reviewers for the salad. I was skeptical about this salad dressing - really tomato soup in a salad dressing? But it was very good! I really enjoyed it on the salad and can see how it would be good on any taco salad or the like. I halved the recipe and let it sit all day in the refrigerator. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I had to make a quick switch out to make what I had on hand work--I did not have celery seed, what I used instead was celery salt which meant I omitted the additional salt. When it came to adding in the oil, I did what Sherri did and started with a half cup of oil and then added it by tablespoon until it got to the consistancy I was looking for. I used this as a dressing for Mexicali Pasta Salad. Both my husband and I thought it was a little too sweet, I'd make this again but I would cut back on the sugar by at least half. I was thinking that this would also make an excellent dressing for taco salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Spot on! Excellent to dress the chicken Fiesta Salad from this site. I would use this again on any salad! I made the whole recipe and half left over, so will keep it in the frig for another occasion. I did add 2 cloves a garlic, just because we are garlic lovers! Kids also loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
What a great dressing! I found it when I was looking at the Chicken Fiesta Salad reviews, and another reviewer mentioned this dressing. I am not a tomato soup fan AT ALL, so I was leary. I tasted it right after I made it, and still wasn't sure, but after letting it sit and blend the flavors, I was so happy!! I just finished making it for the second time, this time, I put everything in my Magic Bullet. Used only 1/2-3/4 cup oil, and about 1/2 the sugar. We actually use it on all salads for a different flavor. So good! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Covina, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Love, love, love this dressing! I have a friend who brings me this dressing from Nebraska, as I cannot find it in Indiana. This dressing is soooo very close to the real deal. I made as written using the blender to mix everything, including the cornstarch. I will be making another batch when school starts to leave there for my daily lunch salad. THANK YOU Angel for sharing this recipe - it rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Excellent my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Oh my, this was great! Hubs and I both really liked it. I made half this recipe to try it out. I followed the recipe with the exception of cutting the sugar in half, using 3 T. for my half recipe. I also didn’t use the cornstarch. I whisked everything up in a bowl and transferred it to a jar with a tight-fitting lid and shook it to further emulsify it. We enjoyed this on Chicken Fiesta Salad, also on this site. And to use up the remaining half can of tomato soup, I made half a recipe of Tomato Soup Spice Cake, also here on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I used my blender for making this dressing, I started with 1/2 cup of oil and then added in more until it reached the right flavor as another reviewer suggested, probably 3/4 cup total. No need for the optional cornstarch. My husband couldn't stop raving about this dressing, he really loved it, as did my son. It was tad too sweet for me, but then I don't put sugar on anything...so that is just me. I can't compare to the store version, since I've never had it. We used on a regular green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States