Doris's Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Really good base recipe. I made it as written and served it on hoagie rolls using a slotted spoon because it was runny. The citrus made it taste almost like ceviche, which I love. I followed another reviewer's suggestion of serving with diced avocado and some halved cherry tomatoes, which, if it had been in the original recipe, would've made it 5-stars. I also subbed tarragon for the dill and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
After reading all the reviews I cut the mayo in half, used green onions a dash of hot sauce and pinch of old bay and 1t of chopped fresh cilantro. It was a huge hit. I only use wild gulf shrimp. It makes a bug difference on flavor. If you use farmed the lemon will be overpowering as farmed raise have much less flavor. Brava Robin! I tip my hat to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tower Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is so good and versatile. I ate it by itself. I ate it on salad greens. My favorite use was as a topping for french bread with cheddar cheese on top and broiled. Just like in some fancy restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
5 and five again! this time I'm really giving it a 5! A 5 I say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made a mistake when writing up this recipe. Use the bunch of celery. At least 6 stalks! Chop fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe. I did add a pinch of "Old Bay". This will be my go to recipe for shrimp salad. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kay104kay
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was very good, I added bell peppers & old bay seasonings. It was colorful and very satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Nice, basic shrimp salad. What was different about this for me was simply gettting away from the ubiquitous dill and adding onion and lemon juice instead, something I never do. I've learned a little lemon juice is nice but I can do without the onion, and I didn't use nearly as much as called for! A little bit'll do ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I found this a bit bland, but don't really know what it needed. I should note that it might have been better had I not taken the lazy route and put the salad shrimp in frozen. As they thawed, the salad turned watery - my fault. Even done properly, tho, I think it needs something else. Good potential here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Used just enough M Whip to wet everything just a bit. Was craving shrimp salad after having a sample of it at Costco. Added a bit of flat leaf parsley and served with rice crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States