Doris's Shrimp Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Nice, basic shrimp salad. What was different about this for me was simply gettting away from the ubiquitous dill and adding onion and lemon juice instead, something I never do. I've learned a little lemon juice is nice but I can do without the onion, and I didn't use nearly as much as called for! A little bit'll do ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
This is a great recipe that looks fancy and is very easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
This was a great recipe, but I did change it just a little:)!!! I turned it into a macaroni type salad by cooking macaroni noodles and adding them to the mixture. Other than that, I didn't change anything else and I thought that they were a good, quick, and simple lunch:)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Great Recipe. I added a teaspoon of Old Bay to liven the taste and diced some avocado at the suggestion of another reviewer. Didn't use quite the amount of mayo called for. Great Recipe!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
Way too much mayo, but that's easily remedied. I started off using only 1/4 cup and adding a Tbsp at a time. Just enough mayo to hold the ingredients is what I like. This was delicious if you cook the shrimp using the Old Bay recipe found on this sight. I stuff green peppers with this for my friends who don't like raw tomatoes and then we're all happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I prepared this as an appetizer for last night's dinner and was very pleased with the end result. I added chopped avocado just before serving and it complimented the shrimp perfectly. Only change I'd make is use less mayo next time and more lemon. Flavours improved overnight although it didn't do much for the avocado!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Fenelon Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I made a mistake when writing up this recipe. Use the bunch of celery. At least 6 stalks! Chop fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I used green onions, half spicy and half plain mayo to eaual about a 1/2 cup, more lemon juice and added 3/4 cup pasta shells and I ate the hole thing! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: West Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
We enjoyed this recipe. I did add a pinch of "Old Bay". This will be my go to recipe for shrimp salad. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Obviously I didn't have a pound of shrimp leftover from our party, but what I did have left in the freezer, I decided to make for lunch today as I had an incredible craving for shrimp salad. I didn't do any measuring, just used some common sense. I added some additional seasonings and served it (to myself) in a partially hollowed out tomato. This hit the spot, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Barilla® Tri-Color Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States