Doreen's Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
If I could, I would give this recipe 6 stars. It is wonderful. Did not have fresh ginger, so used ground ginger. Marinated about 6 hours and the T-Bone steaks were fork tender and great tasting - not sweet at all, as one might expect. Just delicious grilled over medium heat charcoal to desired doneness. Next I will try it with chicken and pork tenderloin - my family can't wait. Thanks Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
We LOVED IT! I have been making variations of this recipe for shish kabobs for about 10 years but never had an exact recipe until now, so it always tasted different. But this time my husband and I thought this recipe was the best one I had ever made. It called for vegetable oil, but I didn't have vegetable oil, we use olive oil for diet reasons, so used it and combined it with what safflower oil I had (canola would be equally good). Also didn't have fresh ginger but had ground ginger and put about the same amount of it as it called for the fresh. I marinated a cheap sirloin that I cut up in chunks for 2 hours or less. Other than that I followed the recipe to the "T". I can just imagine what it would have tasted like using fresh ginger. But had the ground ginger so opted for it. I also used the same recipe for the veggies (marinated them) that I skewered with the meat. They tasted wonderful too. Thank You Doreen! Will definitely use this recipe from now on! Will probably even try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERN_GAL12000

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
We really enjoyed this marinade...even my picky husband said he'd like for me to keep this on file. I used this on pork sirloin chops and let them marinate for 1-1/2 days. I used about a tsp of granulated garlic since I didn't feel like chopping the real thing. I didn't have any honey, so I used brown sugar and my hubby informed me that he added some saki in there at some point. My 16 month old had 2 helpings!! I look forward to using this again. Thanks Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
This marinade is excellent! We enjoyed it on our steak a lot. I wanted to share that this is also an INCREDIBLE marinade for ribs! We were in heaven and will never have ribs any other way again. I marinaded them in Doreens recipe for 5 hrs (next time, over night!) and then braised them in the marinade in the oven for 2hrs on 300 degrees, basting with the marinade every 30 minutes, before grilling with the BBQ sauce (honey BBQ goes fabulous with this marinade). Thanks so much Doreen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I too changed a few things, brown sugar instead of honey, balsamic vinegar, chopped onions and garlic cloves, half veg. oil, half olive oil. Omitted Sherry altogether. Marinated a large 7lb-8lb eye of round roast overnight and flipped it over in the morning. Let it stand on counter til room temp. so it would cook evenly. Braised it all over on top of the stove, then Cooked at 375 degree oven at 20 mins. per pound. Put some Oil and water and Onions quartered in roaster and let it cook. I did not think I was going to like the roast because of the "smell" not sure if it was the soya sauce or ginger or both but it was awfully strong. Anyway, cooked it like I said, and to my AMAZEMENT it was Moist and juicy, and probably one of the BEST roasts I've ever cooked. For a cheap cut of meat, It very well could have been a Rump or Sirloin tip!!!!! This was my first time marinating a Roast of Beef and would definately recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
This marinade rocks! I used it with steak and chicken, and both turned out awesome! The first time I made it, I let the meat marinate overnight with great results. The last time I made this I let the meat marinate for 48 hours, and the steak was incredible. I would recommend cutting down on the amount of oil unless you have a really tough piece of meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Very good. Everyone liked it. Used it on venison. Marinaded for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe, but agreed we think it would be better on chicken. It tastes very similar to Hawaiian style teriyaki. I am going to make this again but use for chicken in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This marinade is AWESOME! I get rave reviews every time I marinate my steak in it. It makes "just average" meat into "totally delectable" meat. Wonderful. Many thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
With all the great reviews, I had to try this. I didn't care for it AT ALL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States