Doreen's Steak Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I thought this was excellent (I dont give out 5 stars too easily!). I followed the recipe exactly, marinaded for 4 hours, and the steaks were delicious. I made it again and followed the recommendations of some on here and marinaded for 24 hours, but I felt the steaks had gone too sweet by that stage. I've since experimented with whiskey instead of sherry - it was fina also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I always get rave reviews when I use this. I never measure anything and I always substitute Red Wine for the sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Vienna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
We didn't really care for this marinade. It was edible, but it just didn't suit our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
I think it was the sherry that threw the taste off for me, added a sour sort of aftertaste...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I did not have sherry or fresh ginger, so I asked for advice from my friends on my cooking forum. Based on their recommendations, here are my substitutions: I used merlot (all I had besides zinfandel) but added 2 t of brown sugar; I used teriyaki instead of soy sauce, because teriyaki is sweeter--again trying to counteract the sourness of the merlot; I used 1 t of ground ginger, but as my friends said, it lacked the punch of fresh. The result was still an outstanding marinade, creating very flavorful and tender rib eyes and T-bones. I will purchase the correct ingredients for next time and try this on other cuts of beef as well. Excellent recipe, Doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
awesome. my husband is hard to please when it comes to marinades, he loved this one, he took some to work the next day so other people could try it. I will be making a lot this, this summer. thanks doreen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
I marinated steak tips overnight and cooked them on the grill for diner the next day. They were a HUGE hit with the whole family. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liam's Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Great marinade. Used things I had on hand. Love that about any recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Very good. Everyone liked it. Used it on venison. Marinaded for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This marinade is AWESOME! I get rave reviews every time I marinate my steak in it. It makes "just average" meat into "totally delectable" meat. Wonderful. Many thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Steak with Garlic

See how to make an amazing double-garlic steak on the grill.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Beerbecue Beef Flank Steak

See how to make a beer-based barbeque sauce for juicy grilled flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States