Dora's Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
My family loved this recipe and I really liked that I didn't have to chill the dough. I used butter and they rolled out and baked up really well (I baked them for 10 minutes) and were perfect for decorating, soft but durable. This recipe is definitely going in my permanent recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I got many rave reviews on these! (A couple people declared them they're new favorite!) They rolled out and baked great. We made half the batch with sprinkles of sorts and the other half with powdered sugar/vanilla/butter frosting...those with the frosting went faster and tasted better..the ones with the sprinkles seemed a little dull. Great recipe Bev! I'll be sure to use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
This was a great recipe in my opinion! Dough was eash to roll, cut and they cooked GREAT! Although I only cooked them for 10 mins...they are even good eating them plain with no frosting or decorations. The kids and I have a great time frosting them as well as eating them...santa will be very please on Christmas Eve night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Twentynine Palms, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Wow. I am so impressed with these cookies. They tasted great and I LOVED that I didn't have to chill the dough. I will definitely make again. These are the sugar cookies I remember from my childhood. Makes a good, soft, sturdy cookie. Usually frost with really good frosting from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful recipe. My husband was as pleased with this cookies as I was. I couldn't decorate them fast enough!!! They are so easy to roll have a wonderful flavor and make a ton of cookies. This is a cookie I will make year after year. Once again thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
These cookies are easy to make but it has no taste. My daughter loved decorating them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Recipie was easy to follow and cookies were easy to roll without being chilled. I used 3 teaspoons of vanilla, no almond extract. Baked at 350 for 9 minutes. Cookies came out looking perfect, still lacked a lot of flavor, needed to be iced, but because we rolled them semi-thick they did look perfect as cut-outs. With icing these are very good. I would suggest using 4 tablespoons of vanilla or at least 3 with maybe a little zest or orange or lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I was very dissapointed because I was going to add this WONDERFUL COOKIE RECIPE to the site to finally share with everyone else. This recipe has also been in my family for years...I have very fond memories and specific memories of when we frosted the cookies that I'd licked my fingers so much that I felt sick. I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THESE COOKIES and they do taste much better with icing/frosting. Definately addictive!!! I've tried a few other cut out cookies from this site and I'd have to say NO OTHER COMPARES!!! AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
These cookies are awesome. No on in my family can bake so two years ago I took it upon myself to do Christmas cookies for everyone and these are it. I use butter instead of shortening and they are the classic, can't get enough of them, buttery Christmas cookies. I also use the "Decorator Frosting" recipe submitted by P. Oakes which is just wonderful, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This dough was easy to handle. The dough smelled yummy, and the cookies were sensational. Thank you, thank you, thank you Beverly for sharing your family's very special recipie. Also, thank you Dora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NNNNN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States