Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I'm curious about a couple of things about this recipe. First, why did I end up with 24, not 12, of these mini muffins as the recipe indicates? Could it be an AR misprint? Mine is a standard, mini-muffin tin. Second, I really don't like nutmeg much. So WHY do I LOVE these muffins?! And why can't I stop popping them in my mouth? Don't kid yourself by thinking that because they're small you won't eat as much. You'll just eat more of them. And making them in the mini muffin tins was GENIUS, Dianne! That way you get more of that buttery, cinnamony sweetness in every bite! I did make a couple of modifications, but nothing that would significantly alter the recipe. I used butter instead of margarine and, because I have an entire quart of buttermilk to use, I subbed buttermilk for the milk. This worked beautifully, but please note that if you do that you MUST add 1/2 tsp. baking soda and eliminate the baking powder to adjust the acidity and make them rise properly! Plus they're so darned pretty I could just eat them up! (And I already did, with five of them) Your recipe is a beauty, Dianne! ~A hopefully helpful update: because of my curiosity I did some shopping around to learn that the sizes of mini-muffin tins varies, sometimes significantly! This explains the variance in yield with this recipe, to anywhere from 12 to 24 of these little muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I'm the submitter of this recipe and I'd like to add a few notes! First, the recipe should read "butter or margarine." Either one works great. Second, I finally found out from my mom, who got the recipe from my grandma, that this recipe makes 24 mini muffins. You fill the muffins cups 1/2 full with batter, and they should rise to just above top of the muffin tin. You can certainly also make 12 larger mini muffins if you wish, but "officially" this recipe makes 24. I think 12 has worked for me because my muffin tin is on the bigger side. Sorry about the confusion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
944 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Wonderful recipe that's a cross between a mini muffin and a donut hole! Simple, delicious, sweet little treats that are kinda like a potato chip - I dare you to eat just one..... With that in mind the only thing I would do differently next time is to double or triple the recipe because these don't last long. I sprayed a little Pam for baking in the bottom of my mini-muffin cups so they'd pop right out. I can't wait to make these with my niece as this is definitely a kid friendly recipe. Thanks Dianne! Update: Like others, I did get a little more than twelve out of one batch but I was so busy popping these little goodies in my mouth I didn't notice the discrepancy. And at any rate, you just can't get enough of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
756 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I just made these this morning! They were very good! I put in a little less than 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. I also coated mine in powdered sugar, vanilla glaze and a chocolate glaze. We all like the vanilla glaze best! Here is the recipe I used for my vanilla glaze 2 cups confectioners' sugar 1 tsp vanilla extract 1 TBS milk 1 TBS butter, softened Put that into a bowl and mix together. I added more milk, but I didn't measure. I just got it to the consistancy I liked. Once I mixed it, I poured have of the glaze into another bowl and added 1 TBS cocoa powder and mixed. Then I dipped the muffins in the glazes and let dry. I double dipped them. Then on the vanilla glaze ones, I dipped some of the tops in the chocolate glaze. Also, glaze them once they have cooled. If you don't wait, they will fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISSALU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Great recipe. Easy and delicious. I noticed the accusation of plagiarism; sour grapes. This forum is for sharing recipes. I don't think a single recipe on this site is totally original by the person that shares them. Who cares except rivercity. I don't care who created the recipe just keep sharing. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piggott, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
okay, my two cents. i can see where everyone thought these to be a 5 star rating, but i think the nutmeg to be a little over-powering and i am a *bigtime* spice lover!!! in fact, i am usually heavy-handed in that dept., but followed this recipe to a 'T' and i personally thought it over the edge where the nutmeg was concerned. also, the batter made 14 of these puppies for me, no matter how hard i pressed on the original twelve trying to duplicate the recipe as written. it wasn't going to happen unless i was willing to accept huge, sweet, sugar-coated 'shroom-looking muffins. lastly, the sugar/cinnamon ingredients are way over-kill. i would easily cut the amount(s) by one third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Oh my word are these amazing! I would give ten stars if I could. They taste just like little sugared donuts, but without all the guilt. I made these as written, but chose just to coat the tops with the margarine and sugar mixture, so I reduced the cinnamon and sugar topping by half. There was still some left over, so I'll just save it to use on the next batch, which I think I'll just make right now. Make sure you spray the pans well and they will pop out very easily. Dianne, this recipe is outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Nice recipe when you don't have eggs. I didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice and used 1/4 tsp. I halved the butter and sugar and added a tsp of vanilla. For the topping I skipped the melted margarine and tossed them with 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 cup of sugar in a paper bag to coat, made 18 mini muffins baked in 18 minutes. *** I have tried it with an egg as well and we noticed no difference with taste or texture. ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These muffins were awesome! I followed this recipe to a T and had no problems! One thing I found out was, after tasting the batter that this was not gonna be enough for our family! But, no problem... I went right ahead and made another batch! These were so good! I will make them again and again!! :) Thanks Dianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geranium

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are absolutely delicious! I made a double batch and followed the recipe exactly. They fit perfectly into my 24 slot mini muffin pan, however, when they baked, the tops rose out of the pan, and instead of staying nice and puffy, they spread out over the muffin pan. This was not the look I wanted...so I took the edges off of the finished muffins before rolling them in the cinnamon sugar and butter. This made them look more like donut holes. I was also wondering about the rolling in butter part...I couldn't seem to do it without the muffins being absolutely soaked in butter...I ended up just dipping the tops of the rest after I dipped the first few. The taste of these muffins, however, makes up for these defects...in my opinion, they're even better than donuts. My family ate the whole double batch in about 10 minutes...and absolutely loved them. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Dianne! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States