Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Only reason for 4 stars is that I used 1/2 the called for nutmeg and once baked I brushed the tops with butter and dipped in the sugar/cinnamon mixture. I also 1 halved the coating ingredients and had too much., but that's ok! My husband adores those cinnamon donut holes from the store. These got two thumbs up! Yeah! I can make these for pennies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Having followed the recipe exactly, i recommend using half the nutmeg and replacing the other half with cinnamon. But otherwise it was very good and I'll be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Fantastic! Only problem is that I do not have mini muffin tins, so chose to make regular sized muffins, but still only got 6, regular sized muffins out of it. No matter, they were really delicious. I only coated the top with butter and rolled in sugar and it was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Awesome, I used butter in place of margarine and cooked them in a paper lined mini muffin pan. After I took them out I brushed the tops with butter and dipped the tops in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I think these little donut muffins are awesome so yummy, those that underrated these must of done something wrong. ( that's just my opinon) I only butter and sugared the tops other wise I think they would be too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne14

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Made these little darlings for my husband and friends. They all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
They were dry and had a sour taste. They don't at all taste like donuts, either; more like sweet-ish muffins with cinnamon sugar on the outside. Made once, won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
It is very true to it's name. In taste and texture it is like a donut, in the shape of a muffin. I only gave it 4 stars because I didn't make the recipe as written, I would've given 4 1/2 if I could. For one, I only have large muffin tins, which yielded me 6 delicious muffins, though not that large at all... Second, for the cinnamon-sugar topping, as some suggested, I only did the tops. After removing from the oven I lightly spread margarine on the tops of the muffins with a spatula, then lightly sprinkled sugar, then cinnamon on top. Any more than that would've been too much! Also I did cut the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp, was plenty for me, and I wouldn't dare cut it out entirely, that is what made the taste so donuty (sp?) All in all it was different, but altogether a good, interesting recipe. I wish I had the mini muffin tins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
The taste was good, but the texture was off-putting for some reason, probably a mistake I made in preparation somehow. One comment I got was "Is this cinnamon cornbread?" I was so excited to make these because of all the positive reviews, so I am disappointed at my failure. Perhaps I will try again to see if they turn out better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
These were really yummy! Nothing like a sugar rush to start your morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,629) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States