Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Barbaradawn
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I absolutely love these mini muffins however when I made my batter I added half teaspoon vanilla to the batter. My husband suggested I coate them with powdered sugar and cinnamon instead of granulated sugar as the recipe suggests. They turned out so much better! My family insists I always make them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Holy woooow these are sugary. The nutmeg in the muffin is a nice touch, but I could barely taste it over the cinnamon/sugar coating, even when I had brushed about half of it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this exactly as written. My pans are the mini "WearEver" brand. I used my smallest scoop (maybe 1 tsp size?) and it made exactly 24. Baked for only 10 min. and they were done. The pans are dark, so that's probably why they baked a little faster. Used margarine - next time I will use butter. I just like the taste better. My husband thought there was too much sugar on the outside - I thought they were perfect. When it comes to sugared donut holes, I like them to have that crunch on the outside. I just kept popping one in my mouth here and there as I cleaned up the kitchen. I finally stopped after 8.........even then I wanted just 1 (or 2)more. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So delicious. My husband are half the batch (and he is not usually a sweet tooth). I left the muffins in the oven for 20mins which was a bit too long so next time I'll just bake them for 15mins. Highly recommend this, unless you're on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Pretty yummy. Very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by abiscuitatrisket
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Would of been even better if I had taken them out before the 15 minutes was up(even though I was using a standard 24 mini muffin pan), as they were a little too dry, and had used salted butter instead of unsalted to dip them in the sugar-cin mixture. Good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a great and simple recipe! I highly recommend you NOT deviating from the recipe. The first attempt I tried with other recommendations and they did not turn out and the second time I decided to stick to the recipe and directions and they turned out perfect! Made these for a tea and got lots of high remarks and my kiddos loved them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were just ok. I was excited about them because I thought they'd taste like donut holes, but alas...they did not. I made them with all 3/4 tsp nutmeg the first time and found the flavor to be too much. I guess I really don't like nutmeg and my family didn't care for them either. Used margarine and decided to use butter the second time as I don't like the margarine flavor as much. Tried them again with butter, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and they were better. Still not great, but better. Texture was perfect and we liked the cinnamon-sugar topping, but the rest is so-so. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kalia77
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I changed the flour to 1 cup gluten free flour and 1/2 teaspoon Xanthan gum. Baked for 16 mins. Dip tops in melted butter and dip in cinnamon sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These are so delicious !! I highly recommend them !! I made them for my 2 younger sisters and I and they were gone in 24 hours ! Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,611) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States