Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Made these little bites of sweetness today for the first time. I like the simplicity of the recipe. However, I am glad I read a few reviews first, as I cut down a bit on the nutmeg to 1/2 a teaspoon. Needless to say the next time I make them, I will double the recipe. They were a hit! Would make them again, anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blanche

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Petawawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
It is a fabulous recipe I especially love the nutmeg in it. They're a great warm breakfast on a cold winter morning. Hope you try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
this recipe is great but I think with the sugar coating, it's too sweet. I would recommend cutting down the sugar in the batter because the coating will make the whole thing sweet enough. I also cut down the nutmeg powder and used only 1/2 a teaspoon. They were perfect like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by @nn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I was looking for a new, easy muffin recipe and this was perfect! It was absolutely delicious and so quick and simple. I made it twice in a couple days. I only rolled the top of the muffins in the cinnamon sugar, and that seemed to be sufficient for the extra sugary kick. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
very kid friendly and very easy! the kids loved making and eating them.. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Its cute and osam to taste I had made it for my 4 year old cousin sisters b day so I had put monster high with cookie icing on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This Recipe is a keeper. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made these with a regular-sized muffin pan and used butter instead of margarine, but kept the recipe and baking time the same otherwise. I only ended up with 8 regular-sized muffins. On its own, the muffin tastes rather bland, though I think the nutmeg is a nice touch--albeit not the first thing you think of when it comes to "donut". The finished muffin did come out nice, moist, and had a pleasant texture, so props for that. With the cinnamon-sugar topping, these turn out quite tasty, but if you coat anything like this in cinnamon and sugar, it's already going to taste much better. They're very simple and easy to make and overall, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe and these little gems are a great tiny bite to go along with a healthy breakfast! I didn't change much, it is a perfect recipe as is, but I did use coconut oil instead of margarine and I don't believe it changed anything, however, I did add a pinch of salt to make up for the missing salt. I also didn't use margarine for the dipping, I used butter, but only 2 tbsp and only dipped the top but I did roll the entire thing in sugar and it stuck fine with only the tops dipped. There was still half of the butter still in the bowl, next time I will only melt 1 tbsp at a time. I love the nutmeg flavor of these, they really do taste like little donuts. . .I wonder if powdered sugar would be good to dip into next time. . .Thanks Dianne, you made our scrambled egg breakfast much sunnier this morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aliboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eustis, Florida, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States