Donut Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Made this exactly as written. My pans are the mini "WearEver" brand. I used my smallest scoop (maybe 1 tsp size?) and it made exactly 24. Baked for only 10 min. and they were done. The pans are dark, so that's probably why they baked a little faster. Used margarine - next time I will use butter. I just like the taste better. My husband thought there was too much sugar on the outside - I thought they were perfect. When it comes to sugared donut holes, I like them to have that crunch on the outside. I just kept popping one in my mouth here and there as I cleaned up the kitchen. I finally stopped after 8.........even then I wanted just 1 (or 2)more. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So delicious. My husband are half the batch (and he is not usually a sweet tooth). I left the muffins in the oven for 20mins which was a bit too long so next time I'll just bake them for 15mins. Highly recommend this, unless you're on a diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Lough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Pretty yummy. Very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by abiscuitatrisket
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Would of been even better if I had taken them out before the 15 minutes was up(even though I was using a standard 24 mini muffin pan), as they were a little too dry, and had used salted butter instead of unsalted to dip them in the sugar-cin mixture. Good tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
This is a great and simple recipe! I highly recommend you NOT deviating from the recipe. The first attempt I tried with other recommendations and they did not turn out and the second time I decided to stick to the recipe and directions and they turned out perfect! Made these for a tea and got lots of high remarks and my kiddos loved them too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These were just ok. I was excited about them because I thought they'd taste like donut holes, but alas...they did not. I made them with all 3/4 tsp nutmeg the first time and found the flavor to be too much. I guess I really don't like nutmeg and my family didn't care for them either. Used margarine and decided to use butter the second time as I don't like the margarine flavor as much. Tried them again with butter, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and they were better. Still not great, but better. Texture was perfect and we liked the cinnamon-sugar topping, but the rest is so-so. I probably won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kalia77
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I changed the flour to 1 cup gluten free flour and 1/2 teaspoon Xanthan gum. Baked for 16 mins. Dip tops in melted butter and dip in cinnamon sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
These are so delicious !! I highly recommend them !! I made them for my 2 younger sisters and I and they were gone in 24 hours ! Love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
I just tried this recipe. It's super easy to follow! Just make sure your margarine (or butter) is completely melted because it's MUCH easier. And fill your mini muffin tins a little lower than half full or they will overflow. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The first time I made this, it was because I was out of eggs and needed to bring something to a breakfast. I have made it several times since then, and always get compliments. I make it with butter, and use the full amount of nutmeg. They go well with coffee, and since they are small and easy to eat, they go fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States