Don't Knock it Until You Try it Zucchini Chocolate Banana Nut Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Love, love, love this! I didn't have any cocoa powder, so I used 3 bite size pieces of Dove chocolate, 1/4 agave nectar instead of sugar, and used vanilla flavored coconut milk instead of half and half. I also used 1 T of peanut butter since I had no peanuts. These flavors together are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnibunnies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I prefer the texture best when the zucchini and banana are NOT frozen. Instead, I'll add them fresh from the garden with several ice cubes to create a more smoothie like texture. As is this will result in a thick malt like texture. Loved the flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This is great! This is better than a chocolate milkshake. Didn't have any peanuts so used about 2 tablespoons peanut butter. Used whole milk in place of half & half. Didn't have any cocoa powder so used Hersheys syrup 2 T. or so. Tasted it & was so good that I didn't add any sugar, was great without it. So glad I tried this & now I have another really good use for my frozen grated zucchini & I grated & froze all my zucchini with the peel left on & have never noticed any bitterness by leaving the peel on. I also have a use for all those frozen bananas also. I like this so much that I will be freezing zucchini & bananas just for this recipe. This would be great on a hot day in summer too & its also very filling if you don't want a big meal & is a great pick me up also! Thank-you for putting this great recipe on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe I did omit the sugar and used 2 T of honey instead. Also used 2 T of peanut butter and 2 percent milk added 1/2 c more than recipe only because I like mine a little thinner! Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Interesting, decent milkshake. Does not keep, so serve immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
this got mixed reviews in my household, but I liked it! I wanted something chocolatey and this hit the spot! I might try it next time with less peanuts...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
What a treat! I substituted 2 T honey for the sugar and used 1% milk. Just used zucchini out of the fridge (not frozen - didn't want to wait). This was thick and delicious!! Next time I'll try peanut butter as I found the peanuts didn't chop up fine enough. Could be my problem though as I just added them to the food processor (not blender) with the other ingredients. Thanks so much for the recipe 5THSISTER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is the first time I am reviewing a recipe because I wanted to wait until I encountered something truly fabulous! This recipe was fantastic! Simply knowing that zucchini can be frozen in shredded form is life-changing for me. I have about eight zucchinis to use right now and at least four of them are going to go in the freezer as shredded form to be added to smoothies. Only problem with this recipe is that I thought the sugar was a little over the top - we used about an eighth of a cup and it was plenty. Also, we used 2% milk and it tasted fantastic so don't be afraid to tweak. Thanks for a great and creative recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Love this recipe! Replaced sugar with agave syrup, used cashews for peanuts, and used 1 cup of soymilk instead of half and half. Turned out awesome and super healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachkris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Thank you for a WONDERFUL idea to add grated frozen zucchini to a milkshake! My super picky 13-year old had no idea he was drinking a zucchini milkshake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States