Donna's Sherry Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I can not say enough about this cake. My kids don't eat a lot of sweets as they are not big fans. But this cake is just enough to meet the sweet tooth in anyone. I've made this cake 5 times now in the past 2 weeks. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Thanks so much for this! I never buy cake mix - but was craving a quick and warm dessert! This is a dessert I remember from the 70's - so was very glad to come across it! Instead of dusting with powdered sugar - we'd make a glaze from milk, sherry, and powdered sugar! The more nutmeg (freshly grated!) the better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My mom gave me the recipe for this when I was in junior high in the '80s (this is almost the same, hers has a small pkg of vanilla instant pudding too). I have made it ever since--she always just called it Wine Cake, so people don't know what to think. They are always pleasantly surprised! It is the best and easiest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have sherry so I used champagne instead. I also left out the nutmeg. Very moist and the taste is definitely unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This cake was REALLY fast to make, and tasted great right out of the oven! It was a little too mushy for my taste. If I was to make it again, I'd cut back on the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I was a bit surprised at how "strong" the sherry flavor was. I love the taste of sherry, but this was way too much for the cake. Then I spoke with a friend who has the same "exact" recipe with one exception.....1 pkg of instant vanilla pudding. I followed the recipe again, but this time I added the pudding, and boy did that make all the difference in the world. It was even more moist and velvety smoothe! I suggest amending the recipe to incorporate the package of instant pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
tastes great! extremely moist & such simple ingrediants! big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My mom has made this cake since the 70's. Always a hit with the office crowd. You can make a glaze for the cake using sherry, powdered sugar and melted butter. Bring your desired amounts to a boil and spoon over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This cake is so easy and very moist. Even my husband likes it, and there are not very many desserts that he does like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
Very easy to make & tastes great! (very moist) - it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States