Donna's Sherry Wine Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I can not say enough about this cake. My kids don't eat a lot of sweets as they are not big fans. But this cake is just enough to meet the sweet tooth in anyone. I've made this cake 5 times now in the past 2 weeks. We LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Thanks so much for this! I never buy cake mix - but was craving a quick and warm dessert! This is a dessert I remember from the 70's - so was very glad to come across it! Instead of dusting with powdered sugar - we'd make a glaze from milk, sherry, and powdered sugar! The more nutmeg (freshly grated!) the better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My mom gave me the recipe for this when I was in junior high in the '80s (this is almost the same, hers has a small pkg of vanilla instant pudding too). I have made it ever since--she always just called it Wine Cake, so people don't know what to think. They are always pleasantly surprised! It is the best and easiest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Delicious! I didn't have sherry so I used champagne instead. I also left out the nutmeg. Very moist and the taste is definitely unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
This cake was REALLY fast to make, and tasted great right out of the oven! It was a little too mushy for my taste. If I was to make it again, I'd cut back on the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I was a bit surprised at how "strong" the sherry flavor was. I love the taste of sherry, but this was way too much for the cake. Then I spoke with a friend who has the same "exact" recipe with one exception.....1 pkg of instant vanilla pudding. I followed the recipe again, but this time I added the pudding, and boy did that make all the difference in the world. It was even more moist and velvety smoothe! I suggest amending the recipe to incorporate the package of instant pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2002
tastes great! extremely moist & such simple ingrediants! big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2001
My mom has made this cake since the 70's. Always a hit with the office crowd. You can make a glaze for the cake using sherry, powdered sugar and melted butter. Bring your desired amounts to a boil and spoon over the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2001
This cake is so easy and very moist. Even my husband likes it, and there are not very many desserts that he does like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
Very easy to make & tastes great! (very moist) - it was a big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States