Donna's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
yummmmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair.W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I only cook about 3 times a year and tried this recipe for my boyfriend's kids who are extremely picky. Aside from that their family is full blooded Italian and they are used to their Nannie's cooking. The kids later told their aunts it was the best lasagna ever and begged me to make it again. I replaced the cottage cheese with ricotta...and used lavender salt in the meat. I also made the meat mixture the day ahead to let all the spices come to know each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
i folllowed the directions exactly and found something was missing. and the flavor was not there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CLSnodgrass86
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This recipe was pretty amazing and is the first time I made lasagna. It turned out really well but I did not use cottage cheese. I used ricotta. I also recommend making a little more sauce if you like it saucy! I also only had to bake mine for 45 minutes and it was ready. Any longer and it would have been really dry. I only had to use about 6 noodles so dont boil the whole box. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSnodgrass86
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Good basic recipe; the sliced mozzarella makes a big difference. I recommend using more of the cottage cheese mixture. I also used 3 more noodles, 2 cans of no salt added chopped tomatoes (no puree), 1 chopped onion, 1/2 of the sugar called for, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, 1 lb sausage and 1/2 lb ground beef (instead of 1 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb sausage), 1 small can mushrooms and kosher instead of iodized salt. My husband loved it, asked for it for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Excellent recipe but I believe she meant rigotta cheese not cottage cheese thats the only thing I changed with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This was delicious, lots of flavour and stayed together nicely. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Finally, a really good base recipe for homemade lasagna that my family enjoys! I've made several and almost gave up on enjoying a good homemade lasagna. Saw this in the Allrecipes cookbook and decided to give it a try. Must be good if it made it into the cookbook, right? I'm so glad I did. I only did a few things differently, but nothing much. I added a little extra sauce and added fresh, lightly steamed spinach. Made homemade garlic bread with it, too. I plan to use this recipe as a base recipe and try various things in the future. I also plan to make a big batch of it and freeze a few pre-made ones for quick dinners later. Freeze it before cooking in the oven. Then cook it like you would a frozen lasagna dish from the store. Thank you, Kathy, for submitting a great lasagna recipe our family enjoys! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Delicious -- this will be my go-to lasagna recipe! Because I only had one 6 oz. can of tomato paste, I used 6 oz. tomato sauce as a substitute for the second, which worked out great. The meat mix was a little too thick for my liking so I added a bit more of the pureed tomato and tomato sauce with another 1/2 tsp. or so of sugar to balance out the extra tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Very good recipe - used turkey sausages. As other users, used ricotta/cottage blend and remove all salt from recipe (it had enough). Added spinach to cheese mixture and red pepper flakes to sauce mixture. Also used 4 cheese blend instead of parmesan in cheese mixture. Not enough sauce - next time using 1 lg. and 1 med can of crushed tomatoes instead of 1 10.75 oz. can tomato puree. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States