Donna's Cornbread, Sausage and Jalapeno Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. I do change one thing though, I use all stuffing and no breadcrumbs. I made it the first time with breadcrumbs and it was too heavy. The flavors are great and it goes really well with turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My family LOVES this dressing. I've made it at Thanksgiving the past three years. It's always a big hit, and there are never any leftovers. I add low-fat Cream of Chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina McHone House
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Combine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
have 3brother-in-laws and 2 brothers that live near by and they loved it. was not to spicy or too hot. every the kids loved it.made it for the kids befor putting jalapano;s in.wonderful taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This was a good recipe. I used Mexican Chorizo instead of Italian Sausage for even more of a kick. I also did not drain the sausage after browning with the peppers and onions, then omitted the additional butter on the top at the end. It was really a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was quite tasty, but required so much butter I was a little put off. I made as-is, but did not dot with the butter before I put it in the oven. BIG MISTAKE! It needs everything called for.. except maybe a little bit more spice. :D Very good, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was good and a nice change. However, with the pre-made corn bread stuffing mix it has a slight store bought taste. Also, do not over process onions and jalapenos or their taste gets lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Thanks, this recipe is exactly what I was looking for. The only change I made was instead of using spicy Italian sausage I used sweet Italian sausage. This allowed for the younger ones to enjoy the dressing as well. I didn't want it too spicy. It gave it a wonderful sweet and spicy taste. This recipe helped make this Thanksgiving dinner one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
THE BEST DRESSING I'VE EVER TASTED!!! MY FAMILY LOVED IT!!!! IT IS A NEW FAMILY TRADITION. THANKS, DONNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
We served this for Christmas (with ham). It has a very good flavor and is not spicy hot. I took advice from previous reviews and used 2½ boxes (6 oz ea)of cornbread stuffing mix, 32 oz carton of broth and omitted the dry bread crumbs. I also used plain sausage because we don't like the seasonings in the spicy italian variety. My increase of stuffing mix resulted in this variation being a bit salty for our sodium sensitive guest, but all in all a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNACKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Tasty, but quite salty. I would try it again using corn bread instead of cornbread stuffing mix. Loved the jalapenos, the heat was just noticable and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States