Donna's Cornbread, Sausage and Jalapeno Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I love this recipe. I do change one thing though, I use all stuffing and no breadcrumbs. I made it the first time with breadcrumbs and it was too heavy. The flavors are great and it goes really well with turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My family LOVES this dressing. I've made it at Thanksgiving the past three years. It's always a big hit, and there are never any leftovers. I add low-fat Cream of Chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina McHone House
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Combine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
have 3brother-in-laws and 2 brothers that live near by and they loved it. was not to spicy or too hot. every the kids loved it.made it for the kids befor putting jalapano;s in.wonderful taste and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This was a good recipe. I used Mexican Chorizo instead of Italian Sausage for even more of a kick. I also did not drain the sausage after browning with the peppers and onions, then omitted the additional butter on the top at the end. It was really a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
This was quite tasty, but required so much butter I was a little put off. I made as-is, but did not dot with the butter before I put it in the oven. BIG MISTAKE! It needs everything called for.. except maybe a little bit more spice. :D Very good, overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareyLee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Round Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This was good and a nice change. However, with the pre-made corn bread stuffing mix it has a slight store bought taste. Also, do not over process onions and jalapenos or their taste gets lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Thanks, this recipe is exactly what I was looking for. The only change I made was instead of using spicy Italian sausage I used sweet Italian sausage. This allowed for the younger ones to enjoy the dressing as well. I didn't want it too spicy. It gave it a wonderful sweet and spicy taste. This recipe helped make this Thanksgiving dinner one of the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
THE BEST DRESSING I'VE EVER TASTED!!! MY FAMILY LOVED IT!!!! IT IS A NEW FAMILY TRADITION. THANKS, DONNA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
We served this for Christmas (with ham). It has a very good flavor and is not spicy hot. I took advice from previous reviews and used 2½ boxes (6 oz ea)of cornbread stuffing mix, 32 oz carton of broth and omitted the dry bread crumbs. I also used plain sausage because we don't like the seasonings in the spicy italian variety. My increase of stuffing mix resulted in this variation being a bit salty for our sodium sensitive guest, but all in all a good side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNACKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Tasty, but quite salty. I would try it again using corn bread instead of cornbread stuffing mix. Loved the jalapenos, the heat was just noticable and just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J A M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States