Donna's Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I only had semi-sweetened chocolate squares at home, so used these and used 1 cup applesauce and 1 cup sugar (instead of 2 cups sugar). I doubled the recipe and it worked fine - made 2 loaves, 12 regular and 12 mini muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This was really excellent. I added the entire unsweetened chocolate bar, 4 ounces, I think. I also added heaping cups of zucchini so it was a bit more than 2 cups. The kids absolutely love it and it doesn't need a thing on it to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom to Twins- Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This had a good flavor,though not as moist as I would have preferred. I might try this again, adding a little more zucchini and maybe some chocolate chips, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Pinkerd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
great! hubby loved it. I'll be trying a more healthy version down the road. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for half the oil, 6 T. cocoa and 2 T. oil for the baking chocolate, cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and used chocolate chips instead of nuts. Even my kids who turned up their noses at the zucchini loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
i made it without the chocolate because my husband doesn't do well with new things, but it was a great zucchini bread and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I am not much of a baker, but this zucchini bread came out moist, did not dry out over the couple of days I had it, and the folks at work I shared it with said it was delicious. Instead of mixing the chocolate in, I went the chocolate chip route, flouring my chocolate chips before adding to ensure they did not sink to the bottom of the bread. This will be my means of making zucchini bread come the end of next summer when I have a bounty of zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I didn't have to glaze this, it was so sweet and yummy by itself! I did at a little more chocolate, thanks to the reviews. It was so moist. Even my veggie and nut hating son ate this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Was very chocolaty but a little dry. Those that like very dark chocolate will love this one. Will try again, but will probably add something to aid the moisture content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Definitely a keeper -- very moist, but not gummy. After reading other reviews, I added a 3rd square of chocolate and 1/8c of cocoa powder. Yum. I didn't do the glaze, but didn't miss it. Both loaves disappeared in the break room at work in less than 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowscribe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calumet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States