Donna's Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
This zucchini bread has a great “fudginess” to it that’s really a pleasant change from the usual zucchini bread recipe. The modifications that I did to the recipe to lower the sugar & fat were; brought the sugar down to 1 1/3 cups along w/adding 2/3 cups natural applesauce which both sweetened the recipe & cut down on the fat needed! I also lowered the oil content to 1/2 cup & added 1/4 cup ground flaxseed. Instead of the chocolate squares, I used 6 Tablespoons of cocoa & threw in 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The bread came out so moist & delicious, there was no reason to add any glaze. The jury's still out on the almond slices...they were just “okay” but on the whole this was a fantastic recipe & I’m sure we'll make it many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I added a mashed banana and some oatmeal to the recipe. Made it into muffins for the kids' lunchboxes. It was a good way to hook some veggies into dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iron River, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spirit Lake, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was delicious, I used 1/2 cup applesauce in place of 1/2 of the oil, used 6 heaping tbsps of cocoa + 1 tbsp oil instead of chocolate squares. Put 1/2 cup chocolate chips and in 1/2 of the batter I added 1/2 cup chopped almonds, therefore I had two varieties. Cooked at 350 for only 50 minutes. It was excellent, everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Although this is a good standard bread, I found it to be dry. Even though I only cooked it for 50 minutes instead of the 60 called for. Maybe soem additional zucchini and less cook time might moisten it. The next time I will try it as a muffin recipe, it has a good basic flavor, just needs more moisture. The sugar glaze was a must, I used only a drizzle, perhaps more of a full covered "frosting" works better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Great recipe! I wanted to make 2 full size loaf pans so I made 1.5 of this recipe and added more chocolate than called for. For a 1.5 batch I added 4 ounces of melted semisweet chocolate and about 1/4 cup coco powder. I also toasted the almonds for extra flavor and texture. The bread turned out perfect. Topped it off with a simple white glaze. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I have lots of zucchini to use up. I halved the sugar and used cocoa powder/veg oil instead of bakers chocolate. Cooking time is a bit long, mine were done in about 40 min. Kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
yummy, i dont think it was dry at all as some others had commented. I did add a little more spice with cloves, all spice and a pinch more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
My bread turned out well. One change I made was that I traded the almonds for crushed walnuts. Because this calls for 2 loaves and I only have one pan, I cooked my first one to the time on the recipe and it burned on the edges. I cooked the second one for 45 minutes instead of 60 and it made a world of difference - it was not burned and more moist! I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKI101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Really yummy! I ommited the almonds and topped with a powdered sugar/vanilla glaze. Kids never knew they were eating zucchini. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Overall I thought this recipe was great, but I made a few adjustments when I made it. I used twice as much chocolate, substitued applesauce for half of the oil, and ommited the almonds. Even with the applesauce instead of the oil, it was still nice and moist. I think next time I make it, I am going to put chocolate chips in it and then it will definately be five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States