Donna's Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this as muffins, and I followed the recipe except for subbing applesauce for half of the oil. I wasn't so pleased with using melted baking chocolate; when you add it to the cold batter it shreds into small pieces instead of mixing. So next time I'll use cocoa powder instead. You have to watch this in the oven as it goes from underdone to overdone fast! I checked my muffins at 19 mins and they were still all gooey so I put them in another 10 mins and they were dry and hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A good base recipe! I used applesauce in the place of oil, egg beaters for 2 of the eggs, and honey and raw sugar in place of 1cup of the sugar....and only used 1/2 cup-ish of white sugar. They are moist and good. If I remake them I will use only one-ish cup of sweetener. I added chocolate chips to part of the batter for the kids. My anti veggie daughter ate one! (Yes, I told her they had squash in them before she ate!) I do agree with others to more cocoa if you want a true chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
My kids love chocolate muffins from our local coffee shop. This recipe is the closest I've come to matching those; these muffins are delicious and moist! I substitute half the oil for applesauce to make them a little healthier and add a cup of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This bread is a little on the dry side and not very chocolatey. The "Chocolate Zucchini Bread I" recipe is moister and has a lot more chocolate flavor to it. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Delicious. Good cinnamon paired with the chocolate. And moist, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this exactly as is last summer. With leftover grated zucchini in the freezer ,this is my go to recipe. I get many requests to make this at potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Awesome recipe!!! I had to substitue bittersweet chocolate squares for the unsweetened chocolate because that's all I had on hand, but they turned out amazing. I made muffins and they are so moist and just the right amount of sweetness and chocolate flavor. Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This was decently good, but it needed far more chocolate and I feel like it had an awful lot of sugar and oil...I think I'll look for another recipe rather than making it again. If I can't find anything better, then I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Delicious bread. I followed the recipe almost exactly. Tip: put the chocolate and the oil into a medium-size microwave-safe bowl and heat for 3-4 minutes. You will end up with beautifully melted chocolate. One note, I baked this in a 9x13 pan instead of bread pans; baked for 40 minutes and it was totally done. Oh and used walnuts (which I toasted before adding) rather than almonds b/c that's what we had around, and those were very nice in this recipe. Oh, and also used whole-wheat flour (can't even tell; the bread is still very moist and delicious!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
I make this all the time! The recipe is very forgiving. I have subbed in whole wheat flour, banana for egg, applesauce and oil, more zucchini, chocolate chips...VERY YUMMY & MOIST and freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Joyce Buron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States