Donna's Chocolate Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for half the oil, 6 T. cocoa and 2 T. oil for the baking chocolate, cut the sugar to 1-1/2 cups and used chocolate chips instead of nuts. Even my kids who turned up their noses at the zucchini loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2000
This bread is wonderfully moist, everyone raved about it! Only thing is it didn't taste chocolatey, I would suggest doubleing the chocolate added. But it is so good that the chocolate really wasn't missed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I made this today as muffins, and our children loved them. It took a few minutes to grate the zucchini, but other than that, they were quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
A GREAT recipe!! My 15 month old is in this "phase" where he doesn't want to eat veggies, and I try to get them inside him any way I can. He loves chocolate, hence he loves this bread! I modified it somewhat to make it lower in fat by substituting half of the olive oil for pureed prunes and put only 3/4 of the sugar required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2000
Best Chocolate Zucchini bread I've made. I have pledged to make 25 loaves of bread for our church's booth at the local festival so I tried this recipe out on my Ladies Circle first. They all thought it was great as did my family so part of my 25 loves will now be made from this recipe. I'm sure there will be some very happy people out there who are fortunate enough to buy my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Made these as muffins, they were wonderful!! It made about 20 muffins total. Few things I did: 1) threw in a cup of carrots instead of chocolate 2) They were ready in about 40 minutes, so start watching & smelling early. 3) the sliced almonds were so good in this I would throw in more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This bread was way too dry--we were all mightily disappointed! I also didn't particularly like the addition of the almonds; it might have been better with pecans or walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
A very nice moist bread. Have thrown out my old recipe for chocolate zucchini bread that my daughter gave me and after I gave her a partial loaf of this, she probably will too as she liked it as much as I did and immediately asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
The bread did not have a very strong chocolate flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2001
This was okay. I know if I put it in the break room at work and all of it doesn't get eaten, that's a problem. It's good if you need to get rid of zucchini in the garden. Wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States