Donna's Cheesy Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is an excellent basic recipe for quiche BUT for us it is just a tad too rich without quite enough protein, so I always double the eggs and sometimes substitute part half and half or milk for some of the cream. I have made this with many different cheeses and additions. But I always decrease the basil by 1/2, substitute savory for the oregano decreasing it a bit, and add a dash or two of nutmeg. I personally like it with gruyere, spinach and a bit of good ham. My kids like it best with cheddar, spinach and ham or bacon. My husband likes it mediterranean style with artichokes, spinach and feta. I buy pillsbury already made piecrust and cut out smaller circles to fit our muffin pan. Then I put the toppings (different for everyone) in each cup and pour the egg mixture over all. Then everyone gets a quiche they like. (oh and if you add the spinach make sure you precook it and squeeze most of the moisture out of it or you'll get a mess.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This was quick, easy, and delicious for my first quiche! I didn't have any heavy cream, so I used 1/2 cup of sour cream and 1/2 cup of milk. Also, my boyfriend hates onions, so I only used 1/2 the amount of onions, and it was still plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I won't keep looking for quiche recipes, this one is it for me! Made it for Mother's Day brunch and it was a huge hit. I did make a few changes though. First, I fried up about 6 slices of bacon crisp. I then sauteed the diced onion in 1-2 tbsp. of the bacon grease. I also omitted the basil and oregano because I don't like them and the other reviews stating that they were a little overpowering. The rest I followed exactly. It was delicious! UPDATE: I've made this several times now, and it's always a huge hit. I no longer make it with the mozzarella, I just use all cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
As others have said, a great basic quiche recipe. I have made this several times and have found that variations on the dairy are well tolerated. You can add any vegetable or meat you like and will not be disappointed. Try sun dried tomatoes & mushrooms if you like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Wow! What an amazingly tasty recipe! My husand and I made this on a whim for brunch, and the flavor was excellent. We had no heavy cream, so we used what we had - fat free half & half. It certainly seemed to work, which also means you could use that instead of heavy cream without compromising flavor. We had no ready-made pie crust, so we used the "Easy Pie Crust" recipe submitted by Louise on AllRecipes. This pie crust is the easiest one ever, contains no butter (a plus for healthier eaters), and no rolling required--you make it right in the pie pan! What a great match for this phenomenal cheesy quiche! Now I've got to see if Donna has other recipes on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
I don't like quiche. That said, I actually liked this quiche. I made it for my 8 year old, who likes quiche (and what a good protein meal for him), and I sampled it because it smelled better than any quiche I had tried before. I was really surprised. I sauteed the onions in a combination of butter and olive oil; left out the salt. I gave it 5 stars because any quiche I like has to be good:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandonsMom11197

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
While this quiche was very creamy and cheesy, and the consistency was good, we didn't like the Italian spices in it. Perhaps we'll try it again with different spices or less of the ones called for and add some sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The first time i made this I omitted the mozzarella (didn't have any)but the quiche was still excellent. The second time I added the mozzarella but didn't like it as much. I thought it made the quiche very chewy. I have used this recipe many times now using only cheddar cheese and get excellent results every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was really good. I did add some things to it, but it was a great base. Best of all, my picky toddler ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Wow was this yummy! I added a little bacon to it as well, but it would have been awesome without too! OMG, it was so good and the onion added just the right flavor to the pie crust!! YUM, YUM, YUM!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Basic Quiche by Shelly

Watch how to make this versatile quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States