Donna's 123 Sausage Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
the dry issue can be solved by adding cream cheese, I use about 4 to 6 ounces. i also added garlic salt and tabasco sauce ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is how I've always made my sausage balls and they are never dry. The key is to make sure sausage and cheese at at room temp when you start mixing and that everything is mixed well. There should be no traces of the biscuit mix left when you start to form the balls. The only way to get it mixed correctly is to use your hands. I always have a couple dozen of these in my freezer ready to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This Recipe is very easy and very good! No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiki's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Easley, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This the same recipe my Aunt uses when she makes them. You can add more cheese too, if you like. She did once and they turned out fine. As the other person said let the sausage and cheese set for awhile out of the refrigerator and they won't be dry. My Aunt always said that when your kneading the ingredients, you know your done when it looks like a "brain" sitting in your bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I love it, this is MY recipe also, learned in junior high home ec, but if you add 1/3- 1/4 cup water, they turn out PERFECT. Ive taken them to work countless times over 12 years, and they ALL want to know the secret to keeping them moist....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Loved this recipe. I like proportion of more biscuit and cheese, less sausage. Some say it is dry, but I think it is perfect. My mom adds a sprinkle of milk to make dough moist. No real difference. A great starter, breakfast, or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcdlf1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Warning: Don't use the super cheap sausage-they will be greasy and nasty. I used the Piggly Wiggly brand-the one that just says "sausage" and the balls were like goop when they came out of the oven. I've had success using Jimmy Dean hot sausage though. My husband can't get enough of these when I make them. They are super bad for you, so I only make them every once in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I think it would be just perfect with only two cups of bisquick. The mixture wouldn't mix well so I HAD to add 1/2 cup of milk. Next time I will try 2 cups of bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
A little dry. I used jimmy dean sausage in one batch and vegetarian in the other. These are best served up with some apple butter. YUMMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This recipe forget the milk. The milk changes it into dough and makes it much easier to form the balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sausage Balls

These juicy sausage balls are great for parties.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States