Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My husband lived near Hallifax for 10 years and introduced me to Donair when we were visiting friends. This recipe is GREAT, but does need oregano, as noted by other reviewers. One note on the preparation of the meat: in order to get the firm consistency needed, I mix everything together, then pick up the whole ball of meat and kind of throw it down into the bowl repeatedly until it becomes very dense and all the fibers of the meat are sort of squished together. Otherwise, the finished loaf will be crumbly and won't really resemble donair meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow - something totally new, but yet similar to a gyro. We loved this recipe. I made the meat portion of this recipe using 3/4 a pound of ground beef - and added 1/2 t. oregano & 1/2 t. Italian seasoning. I also opted to use the cayenne pepper. I mix the meat by hand for about 5 minutes to really have the spices mixed in and to have the meat form without falling apart. Since I used a lot less meat, I formed into a rectangle and baked at 300° for 45 minutes in a toaster oven. Once the meat cooled I refrigerated it all day. I then proceeded with the recipe in the evening. I purchased homemade pitas from our favorite Greek restaurant to serve this on. I made 'Maritime Donair Sauce' from AR for the topping. My family loved the taste of this meat and this meal. It was so simple to make and I like that you need to make it ahead of time so that the meat will slice in thin pieces. We topped with fresh tomatoes, fresh onion slices and grilled onions. DS also topped his with some feta cheese and thin slices of lettuce. 'Cranberry Coleslaw' from AR was our side dish tonight. Thanks, SABMAN for sharing your recipe. I cannot wait to make this again for my entire family. I know they are all going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
im from back east and was expecting something a little closer to what i get at home. wasnt a fav
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
a family favorite...might add a touch more spices, but this recipe is just fine as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
The taste of the meat was good. I used lean ground beef and I won't do that again. It was dry. I also will not add cayenne pepper next time. I used about 1 tsp and it was too "hot". I will make this again with the adjustments as noted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
good but it just needs an hour in oven, not 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is great!! I used red wine vinegar in the sauce and added 3 crushed garlic cloves. I made mini patties with the meat and fried them in the pan (rather than cook it for 2 hours in the oven). My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Alternate sauce recipe: Use a can of sweetened condensed milk, grate 1-2 cloves of garlic into a fine paste and wisk it in. Add 1/4 C of white vinegar and wisk it quickly, but not too much (10-12 strokes is perfect). let it set in the fridge for 10-15 minutes, and voila... Donair sauce that you can literally stand a spoon in. This sauce keeps longer than the standard, and will not separate like the regular sauce. Enjoy!! A very important step in the meat prep is to run it through a food processor or grinder three times. This makes a more homogeneous loaf, that's easier to slice. More pepper is a good idea as well (up to twice as much.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Is the ground beef supposed to be cooked already? I thought you're not supposed to bake raw ground beef....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I added a bit more vinegar, and I added more Cayenne to the meat for more spice. Great recipe. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States