Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I have never been to Halifax, just stumbled upon this recipe. It was excellent! We ate it 2 nights in a row. I did add a teaspoon oregano. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is great!! I used red wine vinegar in the sauce and added 3 crushed garlic cloves. I made mini patties with the meat and fried them in the pan (rather than cook it for 2 hours in the oven). My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My husband lived near Hallifax for 10 years and introduced me to Donair when we were visiting friends. This recipe is GREAT, but does need oregano, as noted by other reviewers. One note on the preparation of the meat: in order to get the firm consistency needed, I mix everything together, then pick up the whole ball of meat and kind of throw it down into the bowl repeatedly until it becomes very dense and all the fibers of the meat are sort of squished together. Otherwise, the finished loaf will be crumbly and won't really resemble donair meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
a family favorite...might add a touch more spices, but this recipe is just fine as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparwood, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Im from the U.K. and had never heard of "Donair". Anyway I made the recipe and was knocked back by all the gorgeous flavours which were so new to me. The following day I had some of the meat and sauce left over, but no Pita Rounds. I decided to put all the mixture with salad into a Soft Wholemeal Bap with a little spread added, and it was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I have lived in Nova Scotia and have not been back in years. I craved donairs and found this recipe. The recipe was great especially the second day since I could slice the meat thinner after it was chilled. The time also allowed the sauce to thicken - still need it a tad thicker to be perfect but still good and I did not use nonfat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is so addictive. You will want it everyday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was perfect, Me and my friends loved it, Nice and easy and taste sooooo good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This donair recipe was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow - something totally new, but yet similar to a gyro. We loved this recipe. I made the meat portion of this recipe using 3/4 a pound of ground beef - and added 1/2 t. oregano & 1/2 t. Italian seasoning. I also opted to use the cayenne pepper. I mix the meat by hand for about 5 minutes to really have the spices mixed in and to have the meat form without falling apart. Since I used a lot less meat, I formed into a rectangle and baked at 300° for 45 minutes in a toaster oven. Once the meat cooled I refrigerated it all day. I then proceeded with the recipe in the evening. I purchased homemade pitas from our favorite Greek restaurant to serve this on. I made 'Maritime Donair Sauce' from AR for the topping. My family loved the taste of this meat and this meal. It was so simple to make and I like that you need to make it ahead of time so that the meat will slice in thin pieces. We topped with fresh tomatoes, fresh onion slices and grilled onions. DS also topped his with some feta cheese and thin slices of lettuce. 'Cranberry Coleslaw' from AR was our side dish tonight. Thanks, SABMAN for sharing your recipe. I cannot wait to make this again for my entire family. I know they are all going to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States