Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
firstly u should never use low fat canned milk, always use whole can milk. never mix the sauce in a plastic bowl, it wont set up. the ingredients listed are good but it is missing the most important one (ground oregano).per pound of ground beef u should use 1 tsp. also when making this recipe italian seasoning is needed, .5 tsp. per 1 lb. as far as the sauce goes try 1 can milk 3/4 cup sugar,2tsp. garlic powder mix this well,then add between 4-6tsp. white vinegar. mix the vinegar in slowly it will make 4 thicker sauce.i find that u need a bit of fat in the meat 4 the spices 2 fully spread out therefore medium works better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this is a great donair recipe, but you have to put in oregano.I usally make about 3lbs at a time.Do not use low fat milk. When making the sauce alway mix equal amounts of sugar and can milk , ( mix them with garlic powder to taste) mix well then add vinigar 1 tlbsp at a time but still stir slowly keep adding vinigar by the tlbsp till thick.I also like to eat mine on tortilla wraps with some greenpepper added to everything else.You can also make a pizza with this meat.Use a pizza crust spread sauce all over ,then put some meat on it ,springle with onions and tomatoes and top with mos-cheese and a bit more sauce.Heat till cheese melts and enjoy. If you freeze the meat cut it up first and put a few slices between freezer paper. then you can take out what you want when you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I too have not lived in Halifax for 6 years now, but managed to find a donair recipe a couple years back. This recipe is good, but try this for improvement; for the meat add a teaspoon of oregano, for the sauce use 2 tablespoons of vinegar and also add 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. Don't use a jar...add the vinegar last and quickly and don't stir too much, this will make it thicker. No this is not pizza corner, but my is it a good fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Good Recipe. As someone who has grown up in Halifax, enjoying this amazing treat, I agree that it needs a little oregano. It is a strong herb, but gives you that authentic taste. The only suggestion I want to make is about the sauce. If you are like me, you don't want to wait for the sauce, or when I order out, they never give you enough. Instead of the evap. milk and sugar, use a can of sweetened condensed milk. Add the 1/3 cup of vinegar, and a pinch of garlic powder. Whisk it all together and put in the fridge until ready to eat. DO NOT skip the step of browning the meat in a skillet, it adds so much to the overal taste. If you've never had this before, try it, it will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Alternate sauce recipe: Use a can of sweetened condensed milk, grate 1-2 cloves of garlic into a fine paste and wisk it in. Add 1/4 C of white vinegar and wisk it quickly, but not too much (10-12 strokes is perfect). let it set in the fridge for 10-15 minutes, and voila... Donair sauce that you can literally stand a spoon in. This sauce keeps longer than the standard, and will not separate like the regular sauce. Enjoy!! A very important step in the meat prep is to run it through a food processor or grinder three times. This makes a more homogeneous loaf, that's easier to slice. More pepper is a good idea as well (up to twice as much.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I have lived in Nova Scotia and have not been back in years. I craved donairs and found this recipe. The recipe was great especially the second day since I could slice the meat thinner after it was chilled. The time also allowed the sauce to thicken - still need it a tad thicker to be perfect but still good and I did not use nonfat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
kudos for idea!! I was so excited to try this but it really didn't do justice to the donairs out here in BC (IMO). There are some adjustments to be made as other reviewers have noted. The sauce seems particularly odd to me, the taste just didn't sit well with me and I tried everything to make it taste better! I think plain yogurt or taziki would be better. The meat needs alot more spice and herbs. However, this recipe gave me the new idea to make my own 'lunch meat' with homemade meatloaf that I can freeze in individual slices, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This donair recipe was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I went to university in Halifax and have been jonesing for a donair for sooooooooo long-for that I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, however...it's not quite the same as pizza corner. I think the meat is missing something, more garlic and more cayenne. Also the sauce is a little thin, maybe because I used fat free milk, should there be garlic in the sauce? I'll keep trying though because you can't beat a great donair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This recipe is great!! I used red wine vinegar in the sauce and added 3 crushed garlic cloves. I made mini patties with the meat and fried them in the pan (rather than cook it for 2 hours in the oven). My husband loved it and I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States