Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is so addictive. You will want it everyday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I have lived in Nova Scotia and have not been back in years. I craved donairs and found this recipe. The recipe was great especially the second day since I could slice the meat thinner after it was chilled. The time also allowed the sauce to thicken - still need it a tad thicker to be perfect but still good and I did not use nonfat milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
I have never been to Halifax, just stumbled upon this recipe. It was excellent! We ate it 2 nights in a row. I did add a teaspoon oregano. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this is a great donair recipe, but you have to put in oregano.I usally make about 3lbs at a time.Do not use low fat milk. When making the sauce alway mix equal amounts of sugar and can milk , ( mix them with garlic powder to taste) mix well then add vinigar 1 tlbsp at a time but still stir slowly keep adding vinigar by the tlbsp till thick.I also like to eat mine on tortilla wraps with some greenpepper added to everything else.You can also make a pizza with this meat.Use a pizza crust spread sauce all over ,then put some meat on it ,springle with onions and tomatoes and top with mos-cheese and a bit more sauce.Heat till cheese melts and enjoy. If you freeze the meat cut it up first and put a few slices between freezer paper. then you can take out what you want when you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
This is the closest recipe that I've found to match my own. Very nice!! The only thing I would have added was oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
Im from the U.K. and had never heard of "Donair". Anyway I made the recipe and was knocked back by all the gorgeous flavours which were so new to me. The following day I had some of the meat and sauce left over, but no Pita Rounds. I decided to put all the mixture with salad into a Soft Wholemeal Bap with a little spread added, and it was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
firstly u should never use low fat canned milk, always use whole can milk. never mix the sauce in a plastic bowl, it wont set up. the ingredients listed are good but it is missing the most important one (ground oregano).per pound of ground beef u should use 1 tsp. also when making this recipe italian seasoning is needed, .5 tsp. per 1 lb. as far as the sauce goes try 1 can milk 3/4 cup sugar,2tsp. garlic powder mix this well,then add between 4-6tsp. white vinegar. mix the vinegar in slowly it will make 4 thicker sauce.i find that u need a bit of fat in the meat 4 the spices 2 fully spread out therefore medium works better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I too have not lived in Halifax for 6 years now, but managed to find a donair recipe a couple years back. This recipe is good, but try this for improvement; for the meat add a teaspoon of oregano, for the sauce use 2 tablespoons of vinegar and also add 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder. Don't use a jar...add the vinegar last and quickly and don't stir too much, this will make it thicker. No this is not pizza corner, but my is it a good fix :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I went to university in Halifax and have been jonesing for a donair for sooooooooo long-for that I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, however...it's not quite the same as pizza corner. I think the meat is missing something, more garlic and more cayenne. Also the sauce is a little thin, maybe because I used fat free milk, should there be garlic in the sauce? I'll keep trying though because you can't beat a great donair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States