Donair Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Waaay too much vinegar in the sauce, but meat tastes great - not Spring Garden Road at 2 am great - but good none the less. Will try again with less vinegar and more spice. The non-Haligonian who had these with me thought they were wicket so 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This donair recipe was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
i will post my own donair recipe very soon, but i did want to add, that i never use a mixer or food processor for my meat. I knead my meat by hand. I find it has a better consistency. To most, a donair is a gyro, but with a sweet sauce instead of the salty sauce used for gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEEFOR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
This was perfect, Me and my friends loved it, Nice and easy and taste sooooo good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Good Recipe. As someone who has grown up in Halifax, enjoying this amazing treat, I agree that it needs a little oregano. It is a strong herb, but gives you that authentic taste. The only suggestion I want to make is about the sauce. If you are like me, you don't want to wait for the sauce, or when I order out, they never give you enough. Instead of the evap. milk and sugar, use a can of sweetened condensed milk. Add the 1/3 cup of vinegar, and a pinch of garlic powder. Whisk it all together and put in the fridge until ready to eat. DO NOT skip the step of browning the meat in a skillet, it adds so much to the overal taste. If you've never had this before, try it, it will become a family favourite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Helen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was a nice recipe. I followed other posters suggestions and the sauce was sweet, tangy and thick. Plus the addition of the oregano was spectacular :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
kudos for idea!! I was so excited to try this but it really didn't do justice to the donairs out here in BC (IMO). There are some adjustments to be made as other reviewers have noted. The sauce seems particularly odd to me, the taste just didn't sit well with me and I tried everything to make it taste better! I think plain yogurt or taziki would be better. The meat needs alot more spice and herbs. However, this recipe gave me the new idea to make my own 'lunch meat' with homemade meatloaf that I can freeze in individual slices, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I love donairs, so I was quite excited for this recipe! Unfortunately, it did not live up to my expectations. The meat was on the dry side and had not a whole lot of flavor, despite adding oregano as other reviewers suggested. It did slice quite thin and nicely after letting it cool overnight, which was good. The sauce was too thin and seemed to be a bit off in flavor..a bit too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
We loved this recipe. The meat part was very easy to make, quick and tasty! The sauce was tasty but a little too runny and needed some garlic. Overall it’s a winner, I’ll just look for ways to tweak the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make the All-American Burger

Get tips to fire up the tastiest grilled cheeseburgers.

Caprese Burger

Jazz up your burgers with fresh basil, marinated tomatoes, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States