Don Struble's Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is absolutely Puerto Rican. I am not sure why doing a variation with the Worcestershire instead of the vinegar etc would make it less authentic, but this is what we know as Carne Mechada but this one is made with Pork. It should have been a boneless pork roast but you can do the same with Beef. This is a Pork Roast too not to be confused with the so called Pernil Asado. Some people put pepperonis,some ham etc. This is why there are recipes. Everyone would make them a bit different. I marinade the meat with oregano, olive oil etc, and then stuff it. Really good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
I used boneless pork tenderloin and my husband and I both LOVED this!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. Don't be so quick to say that this is not 'truly puertorrican'. I remember my uncle more than 35 years ago putting olives and 'salchichón' inside of his pork roasts. Salchichón is very similar to pepperoni (and he sometimes used mortadella too). He also used olives as well. The worcestershire sauce may seem odd, but people have been using it for a while (but we call it salsa inglesa). Anyway, this recipe is a twist from the traditional 'criollo' cooking, but it is GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
This is by far the BEST recipe we have found for a pork roast! It is great cold, as well as hot. We use La. Hot Sauce, and it does not make the meat "torched" with heat! Just a wonderful taste. Makes a nice presentation when sliced and placed on a platter to be served. This is now one of our favorites. Worked just as well with 2" boneless pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This was good. I couldn't give it a 5 star rating because this IS NOT A true PUERTO RICAN DISH!! We DON'T use pepperoni, hot pepper sauce or worcestershire sauce in our dishes. If you want a true Puerto Rican pork roast, try the recipe before this one--submitted by Kenny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I read the reviews and regardless if this is authentic or not, it was very good and we enjoyed it. I Googled their flag and it had similarities to ours and so keeping with the theme of things, I used a star cookie cutter on some bread along with some food coloring, buttered it, and stuck it under the broiler for fun pork sandwiches. I followed this recipe to a T except that I did it in my slow cooker. This was very simple, good, full of flavor and a nice change to our everyday pork roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I pride myself being Puerto Rican...and I have to agree with Rosa, this recipe is not authentic Puerto Rican style. I learned to cook from my mother and grandmother, and they said the same thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
Very good. A very tasty roast, that made the house smell wondeful as it cooked. This is a nice change to just your plain old roast, give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is not Puerto Rican at all. It has pepperonis?? And Worstechire (however you spell it) But for Americano it's not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
This may not be a true "Puerto Rican" Pork Roast, but it is a great meal!! This is now my families favorite Pot Roast!! We love the stuffed Perperoni and Olives and Garlic!! This roast is bursting with flavor! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States