Don Struble's Puerto Rican Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This is a great recipe. I've been making his roast pork for years, and I can't believe it doesn't have more reviews than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I read the reviews and regardless if this is authentic or not, it was very good and we enjoyed it. I Googled their flag and it had similarities to ours and so keeping with the theme of things, I used a star cookie cutter on some bread along with some food coloring, buttered it, and stuck it under the broiler for fun pork sandwiches. I followed this recipe to a T except that I did it in my slow cooker. This was very simple, good, full of flavor and a nice change to our everyday pork roast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS!!! The recipe was easy to follow and I didn't make any changes!!! Thank You Thank You Thank you! D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
In addition to the garlic/pepperoni I included sage. This will be a repeat as it was the most delicious pork loin I ever made. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is absolutely Puerto Rican. I am not sure why doing a variation with the Worcestershire instead of the vinegar etc would make it less authentic, but this is what we know as Carne Mechada but this one is made with Pork. It should have been a boneless pork roast but you can do the same with Beef. This is a Pork Roast too not to be confused with the so called Pernil Asado. Some people put pepperonis,some ham etc. This is why there are recipes. Everyone would make them a bit different. I marinade the meat with oregano, olive oil etc, and then stuff it. Really good and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I pride myself being Puerto Rican...and I have to agree with Rosa, this recipe is not authentic Puerto Rican style. I learned to cook from my mother and grandmother, and they said the same thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Sotomayor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I made this for guests and they loved it. I did not put in the olives and used a whole clove of garlic in each cut. I also used a pork tenderloin instead of a pork roast. Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. Don't be so quick to say that this is not 'truly puertorrican'. I remember my uncle more than 35 years ago putting olives and 'salchichón' inside of his pork roasts. Salchichón is very similar to pepperoni (and he sometimes used mortadella too). He also used olives as well. The worcestershire sauce may seem odd, but people have been using it for a while (but we call it salsa inglesa). Anyway, this recipe is a twist from the traditional 'criollo' cooking, but it is GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milly Suazo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrio Tejas, Humacao, Puerto Rico
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
I had been waiting to try this recipe for a while, and I'm glad I finally got around to it! Whether it is authentic or not, it is so tasty and so unique! I used a boneless pork roast and it came out fantastic. Great taste! So original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Both my husband (picky eater) and I (don't care for pork) really enjoyed this one. It certainly won't take long for this wonderful dish to disappear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States