Dominican Style Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
PERFECT bowl of oatmeal!!! Mine was not thin as the recipe states, but ended up being the exact thickness that I prefer my oatmeal. No changes or adjustments needed. This is a keeper! YUM! Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This is good, however, I reduced the sugar to 1 tsp. and eliminated the salt. I also sometimes add 1 tablespoon of ground flax seed and either blueberries or sliced banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Delicious. I don't know why people insist on making oatmeal with water when milk makes it so much creamier. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I am Dominican and oatmeal is a kind of great breakfast for me... You can substitute milk by fat free evaporated milk and or you can add 1 or 2 tsp of cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Creamy and tasty. This made an excellent breakfast. I wanted more of a cereal than a beverage so I upped the oats to 3/4 c. and that was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was so delicious. Creamy, satisfying and just right. I made one serving, just for me, to test it out. I can't say how much I think this is the perfect oatmeal recipe as is. I imagine you can leave out the salt and/or add different fruits and still have it just be a great oatmeal base, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I never cared for oatmeal breakfast until I tried this recipe. This recipe makes a perfect consistency between beverage and porridge. The taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is an authentic dominican oatmeal, just the way mi mama makes it. Love it! Thank you soooo much for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Delicious- I make all hot cereal recipes( oats, oatbran, cream of wheat etc.) with milk rather than water & then I serve with cream! Calories be damned! May I recommend steel-cut oats for when you have more time (approx. 30 min), perhaps on the weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie MacPherson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I'm dominican and this is just like my grandma used to make for me when I was kid. Perfect consistency and just the right amount of sweetness, though I do like to add another spoonful of sugar if I have a sweet tooth. I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States