Dominican Style Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Only use minimal nutmeg. Too much is very overpowering. Also cut the sugar in half, unless you like it very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Very good! I've never tasted dominican food (someday I will!) but this is just plain good. Very simple but homey tasting. I'm not usually much for oatmeal, but this is creamy and delicious. I didn't have quick oats, I only had old fashioned, so I think it turned out a little runnier than the picture, but it's still good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theinvertsummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Cooking oatmeal in milk is so much better then water! Very yummy. I used brown sugar instead of white its my new favorite breakfast meal now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This is so good!! I have a dairy allergy so I made it with almond milk, doubled the recipe, added 3 TBLS Splenda instead of the doubled 4 sugar, and I added raisins to cook with the oatmeal. It just made 2 generous servings-- We loved it. Thanks for a super tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Blair Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I have never been an oatmeal fan but, since discovering this recipe, I've been eating it at least once a week! This is definitely the oatmeal recipe for those of us who shy away from bland, healthy food and need to trick ourselves into eating it. ;) I sometimes get creative with this recipe and use honey, brown sugar, vanilla sugar, pumpkin spice, or maple sugar in place of some of the ingredients. But it is awesome just the way it is too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royersford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I am a big fan of nutmeg, and was surprised that I had never tried adding it to my morning oatmeal. Since I am the only oatmeal eater in the house, I scaled this down to one serving. I probably used a little more than a pinch of nutmeg, and topped this with my usual raisins and walnuts. This turned out much creamier compared to using water to cook the oatmeal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I thought this tasted pretty good. I usually boil my oatmeal in some water and a pinch of salt. Then, when it is done I top it with some milk and a little butter and sugar. I am always looking for new ways to try things. I cut the recipe in half to make 1 serving. I found it interesting that the oats were cooked in milk. I only had old fashioned oats, and not quick oats, and it didn't seem to be a problem. It is a tad more sweet then I like my oatmeal, but I can always adjust that next time. The added cinnamon and nutmeg was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Absolutely Delicious! Followed the recipe to a tee. The kids and everyone loved it, even the baby! I added fresh fruit: blueberries, bananas, and diced peaches to this oatmeal and it was absolutely incredible! You will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
yummy....I did just what it said and I added a very ripe peach (skinned and diced) while it was cooking...peaches and cream! I always made oat meal with water (probably 'cause it's cheaper) and then in individual bowls added butter and milk, sugar....well cooking this way is much creamer and I feel uses less sugar because of the richness of the milk and no butter! I would make cream of wheat the same way with water until my husband cooked it in milk instead and added vanilla...well wow, the best cream of wheat ever...except a little to thick so sense then I've always made it half milk/ half water and it's perfect, a little splash of milk in the end is always nice too...and butter and sugar..... But this oatmeal is Delicious, I won't give up the other 100's of ways to cook OATS but I will make this often, I LOVE OATS all different ways. Thanks you for this simple, easy, deliciousness comforting way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States