Dominican Style Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
yummy....I did just what it said and I added a very ripe peach (skinned and diced) while it was cooking...peaches and cream! I always made oat meal with water (probably 'cause it's cheaper) and then in individual bowls added butter and milk, sugar....well cooking this way is much creamer and I feel uses less sugar because of the richness of the milk and no butter! I would make cream of wheat the same way with water until my husband cooked it in milk instead and added vanilla...well wow, the best cream of wheat ever...except a little to thick so sense then I've always made it half milk/ half water and it's perfect, a little splash of milk in the end is always nice too...and butter and sugar..... But this oatmeal is Delicious, I won't give up the other 100's of ways to cook OATS but I will make this often, I LOVE OATS all different ways. Thanks you for this simple, easy, deliciousness comforting way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
This makes a really nice bowl of oatmeal, but I was expecting it to be a bit more liquidy than it turned out. It had a good consistency and good flavor, but I think both could be a bit better. Best homemade bowl of oatmeal I've ever made, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I do think this tastes better with a bit less sugar, but is great either way. I LOVE to make this because it's quick & easy to make and tastes AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This recipe is a keeper. We loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Made this with regular oats and skim milk and no sugar. Took a little longer to cook, but had great results. Had a creamy consistency that reminds me of rice pudding. We topped it with brown sugar and fresh blueberries. No additional milk needed. Even my oatmeal hater liked this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I doubled this recipe for my two boys and I and I made this in my rice cooker. I used fat free evaporated milk instead of regular milk for a creamier texture. This oatmeal turned out perfectly. Very creamy with just the right amount of sweetness. Next time, I'll make this with a half cup of raisins thrown in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Extremely tasty and easy to make. It was very creamy, had a great consistency and the spices went together nicely. I've always made my oatmeal with water; after trying this recipe I don't think I'll ever make it with water again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glutosta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Delicious!! kind of like rice pudding. It really hits the spot and I got rave reviews from the family. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I have two picky eaters in the house, and even they liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was pretty good. I messed up and it came out a little too thick. If I make it again I will definitely use less oats than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States