Dolmathes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This was my first experience working with grape leaves and so it was a bit of an adventure. It took a while for me to roll all the rice mixture up making the whole process last longer than I had planned on. I enjoyed the flavor and did as previous reviews suggested and added extra lemon but, I don't think all that olive oil was necessary. There was a lot in the bottom of the pan when we took them out and it kinda made the outside of the grape leaves slippery. My boyfriend wasn't a fan but, I think Ill try it one more time (with some adjustments) when we have guests over to get more reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
I make this recipe with several variations. Instead of grape leaves, I use cabbage leaves. (sweeter than grape leaves) I make meatballs (ground beef/onion/instant rice/parsley) and wrap them in the cabbage leaves. Place the stuffed cabbage in a big pot and pour chicken broth over everything and cook for about 45 minutes on "simmer" (stove top instead of oven). I also pour an egg/lemon sauce over stuffed cabbage after everything is cooked. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
An ethnic treat! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GODSARTIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was delicious! I used brown rice instead and bottled lemon juice. It was a lot of work and made alot of servings but was worth it because I snacked on them all week. I had some serious trouble rolling the grape leaves but by the last few I rolled they were shaped a little better just need some practice I guess. Great recipe I've always loved these rare treats at greek restuarants and now I can make them myself. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten_face

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Using Lizzy9volt's changes I made this recipe and all I have to say is MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM!!! I love these!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star_Eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I pretty much followed the instructions, but had to half everything. I also used some brown rice since I didn't have enough white rice. I used two lemons and included the juiced lemons in the pan while baking. I prefer dolmathes cold, so I let them sit a few hours and they were so good! I will definitely be making them again this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Following the recipe as-is would probably yield about 3 stars, it's not lemony enough. But I made the following additions and had rave reviews from my dinner guests: While rice was simmering, I added about 2 tablespoons of dried dill but also added the fresh dill as directed later. The recipe calls for the juice of 1 lemon while the rice is simmering? Forget that! I added like 3/4 cup! It wasnt fresh either, I used the bottled stuff to save time. After rice was done simmering, I followed directions but I also added about 1 tablespoon of fresh chopped mint. After stuffing leaves and placing in the pan, again I put approx 3/4 cup of lemon juice and about 1/4 cup of olive oil on the tops of them all. I baked them as directed, and then right after they came out of the oven, I squeezed a fresh lemon on the top and let it cool. I prefer these cold, so I served them as such. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
SO DELICIOUS ,IF YOU WANNA TRY SOMETHING ZAZZY AND DIFFERENT I DO RECOMMEND THIS ONE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
The rice was bit mushy (next time I'll try the rice cooker and steam them as is recommended in other recipes). Also, you can use just a little bit of oil and this recipe will be fine. I added chickpeas to the rice for some contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Fabulous recipe! I grew up eating Middle-Eastern food including stuffed grape leaves. I have been looking for an easy recipe to duplicate the grape leaves I grew up with (and now love -- at a steep price -- at places like Whole Foods). This was exactly what I was looking for. I love the use of dill instead of traditional mint (as in Lebanese recipes) and I added a little extra. The only problem I could see with the recipe is that there is no salt listed. That could be the problem the one reviewer had with it being bland. I added about 1 tablespoon of kosher salt to the rice while it boiled. I also added currants to the recipe instead of pine nuts (husband is allergic), though it would probably be even better with them, to duplicate the flavor of grape leaves I had at a Turkish restaurant a few months back. It turned out wonderfully. The little bit of oil on the grape leaves is what I would have added anyway as it is traditional to drizzle olive oil over the grape leaves and serve it with lemon wedges. It was a little labor intensive and I definitely need more practice at rolling the leaves, but it was worth the work. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gourmet Mushroom Risotto

Watch how to make this delicious mushroom risotto.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States