Dolmas (Stuffed Grape Leaves) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Maybe it's me....but mine turned out to be very tough. The grape leaved dried out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
my grandpa was from the middle east and I remember these growing up I love them. Only we made them with ground lamb breast with rice and mint and lemon. yummy. I can't ever find grapeleaves with lamb in them, not even in a restaurant that sells them I will try this but will add lamb and leave the currants and pinenuts out, as that is not how I like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Yummy - the only change that I made was to use raisins (which I chopped) in place of the currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
This one only somewhat resembles the greek versions available in my neighbourhood, so I'm not sure about its authenticity. I read some of the reviews regarding the spices, so I slowly added each spice and tasted as I went along, so the spices tasted great in my opinion. This makes ALOT. I bought an extra jar of grape leaves, because a lot of them in the jar need to be sorted through as they are ripped/broken. I probably ended up with around 50 of them, which is way way too much for myself. Also from the time I began this recipe, until they were all sitting in the steamer, it took two hours, and I'm a rather experienced cook. They did taste quite good, but in my opinion they needed to be doused with lemon juice to really bring out the flavour. Doesn't really taste like my friend's moms' recipes, but it's probably because its my first time making dolmas. I would recommend this recipe for a large party of 20+ people, because that's the only way these are going to all get eaten. Myself, I wouldn't make these again because it's easy and relatively cheap for me to get them fresh from down the street, but thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
I gave this recipe 4 stars becase I felt it needed to be modified... Didn't add cinnamon (?). Use about 1/4 cup each of fresh herbs, not dried... I added a little cayenne pepper in filling for zip, then tomato paste, garlic and some butter into the water when cooking. My sauce covered all layers of the dolma. Also roll them tight so they don't fall apart, placing seam down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I was really disappointed with this recipe. The whopping tablespoon of cinnamon it called for made the filling taste like bland rice pudding. It kept getting sweeter and mushier as it stood. The spices and pine nuts were very skimpy for such a big recipe. If you try this recipe, triple all of the spices and tomato paste, leave out the cinnamon, and douse liberally with lemon juice when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I hate to say it, but these were pretty dissapointing. To be fair though, the excellent reviews may have given me higher expectations than I should have started with. Maybe there is a better way to prepare them than to cook the rice and then steam them? Is it okay to prepare the filling fully cooked and then wrap the leaves?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
i thought this recipe was a solid one. i loved the fact that it was vegetarian and really helathy. i used brown rice with the recipe, didnt add any oil to the filling, used fresh currants instead of dried, and used walnuts instead of pinenuts. so i guess you could say in this sense i only loosely followed the recipe, but the mix of spices was really stellar. i appreciate any recipe that can be made in an ultra healthy way, especially if they still taste spectacular!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alissa Brunsfeld

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Arcata, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I love dolmas and I especially like this version. These are great for lunch because you can eat them cold, and the recipe does make a lot. I think I will double the currents and pine nuts next time, but overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gallus Gurl
Home Town: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Really delicious - don't know if I can go back to canned! I doubled the recipe & used brown rice.. and skipped the olive oil, sautee'd the onions in Pam instead. It made a *ton* - I still have lots of stuffing left over & I used 24 oz of grape leaves. Also, it was weird ... I didn't need to add any water when I steamed, in fact I was ladling water out! Don't know why that happened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States