Dolma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I loved this recipe...we have tried it several times and each time we were delighted by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye Knickman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ir Nana C
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I sub grape leaves to cabbage and it still taste good. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ir Nana C

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
What you got there back in Bosnia is called Japrak and either green cabbage leaves(picked while young) or grape leaves are used..Dolma is similar approach but instead using above mentionedgreen cabbage or greape leaves you use something like cubanelle or anheim peppers.Also, Wendy mentiond that "Japrak" turned out dry.Thats because you haven't made "Zaprska" or sauce for it.I make mine.Lemme know if you need recipe for it.Ahh, almost forgot...Dolma comes out very good when you prepare it in pressure cooker...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I have my own personal recipe for Dolma on my profile but I like to try new things... The potato is different than ours and so is the curry.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
It came out pretty good my first time around. Next time, I would like to play with the recipe a bit. Perhaps use lamb and up the spice content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SakiFiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
I followed this recipe to the letter. I needed more water and more tomato sauce than suggested. About double the quantities of each. I think the amount of rice used was too much, too. As far as rolling the grape leaf, place the cut stem end toward you and the tip away from you. Roll away from you first, then fold the sides in, and finally finish up the dolma by rolling away from you. The tip will rest like a croissant tip: wrapped over and close. Also, remember that you need to make room for rice expansion. I suggest starting out the roll with a chopstick. When you are ready to fold the sides in, take the chopstick out, or whatever you use, out and then finish up the roll. I think by decreasing the amount of rice, the taste will be less diluted. It was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
In Azerbaijan Republic we use mutton instead of beef. Beef is pretty much teasteless and dry. Use mutton instead, it's a very delicious meal on the table of every family in Azerbaijan. Don't bother with tomatoes and tomatoe sauce. This is the first time I hear of someone using it, probably made up. For 1 pound of mutton, use 1 cup of rice only. Otherwise it will kill the teaste of meat. When everything is ready to be placed on the bottom of the dish you cooking in, place a plate on top and press it down. Then pour 3 cups of water. By the time it starts to simmer, remove the plate, but carefully as it's hot. If you can find fresh grape leaves that's even better. Boil them in water and use as described. Canned is fine too but the taste is not as good once cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Even my picky eaters liked this recipe. I only used 2 cups rice, but 4 cups water, just because usually uncooked rice usually needs double the water of the amount of raw rice. We thought it turned out great. It wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe to a T and my dolma were very dry. I've been thinking about what I may have done wrong and maybe it was the 92/8 ground beef I used, maybe I should have used a higher fat content meat. I also used instant rice, so maybe that was a factor. Well, whatever I did, they looked right, they were just dry as the desert. The dolma i've had from restaurants are oily or vinegary and very moist. Also, when it says to put a Tablespoon of filling in each leaf, make sure you don't overfill. The fatter ones were even drier! Skinny is better (like a cigar). Maybe I could had covered all the dolmas with liquid? Use lemon juice as the liquid to make them more tart? They definitely needed tzatziki sauce to dip them in, but I didn't have any so I used ranch dressing (don't shoot me!). Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Isnt it amazing how countries adopt each others recipes? This is a very old Turkish recipe. The word DOLMA is a Turkish word meaning TO FILL or FILLING. The Southern Turkish way of cooking this is, before taking it off the stove, mix the juice of 1 lemon, 2 crushed cloves of garlic, and dried mint and pour over the stuffed dolma's(lift the plate off ofcourse) and gently simmer for about 2 more minutes. Dolma can also be prepared using the same ingredients but with cabbage leaves or hollowed out marrow. My favourite is the stuffed very small capsicums, usually found in Turkish or Middle Eastern grocery stores. I hope you enjoy this recipe as my family always does. TIP: Turkish people also serve this meal with garlick yoghurt (Mix a little crushed garlick with plain yoghurt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States