Dol Sot Bi Bim Bap Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ieetcows
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
If I must say so myself....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieetcows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This recipe is good, but I can't say it's the best because my mom's dol sot bi bim bap is the best. =) But this recipe is still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeFACE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
Marinade for the beef is good! Although next time, I would use ground beef so its more mix-able. However, with preparing the vegetables, I added some things for more flavor: Mushrooms, I sauteed them with 1 tsp vegetable oil, 2tsp soysauce and 2tsp sugar and some sesame oil. Bean sprouts, I cooked them in a pot with a cup of water with 1tsp of salt for 20 minutes, then mixed it with 1 clove minced garlic, sesame oil and a pinch of salt. Spinach:I boiled it for a minute, as per the recipe, then added a pinch of salt, 1 tsp soysauce, 1 clove mince garlic and sesame oil. Zucchini and carrots : sprinkled with salt and sauted for a few minutes separately. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Made this last night for the first time. My husband lived in Korea for a year and this was one of his favorite dishes to order. I scaled it down to four and made as directed (even the raw egg which my husband insisted on). It was great but way too sweet. Once we added a spoon full of kuchujang to each of our bowls, it was perfect. My husband has requested me to make it again. Next time I'll reduce the marinade a little so it's not overly sweet and my kids can eat it without the kochujang. Also, skip the drizzle of sesame oil on the finished product (doesn't need it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great recipe! Thanks for sharing. I did modify it a little, decreasing the sugar by half (using 1/4 C sugar and 1/4 C honey). Still, it was plenty sweet. I also omitted several ingredients I did not have, such as cucumber, carrot, and sesame seeds. Also, on one serving, I attempted the raw egg feat, but it didn't cook into the meal like I had expected, so the whole bowl of food became slippery from the egg. On other servings, I simply fried the egg on one side, then inverted it onto the food. Much better, in my opinion! I only had 1 lb. meat, so I used that. I substituted habanero hot sauce for the chili sauce, as well. Additionally, the only oil I used was a small bit to oil the dishes, and a small bit for frying eggs, spinach, sprouts, etc. I did not pour any over the finished dish. Note: To get the rice to sizzle, I had to put the rice in immediately after oiling the bowl (I used Pyrex bowls.) When I oiled more than one bowl at a time before adding rice, the rice didn't sizzle. So don't let those oiled bowls sit if you want the sizzle. :) The way I made it, I probably give it a four and a half. If I'd had the other ingredients on hand, I think that would have pushed this recipe into 5-star territory. Hence the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
**My rating is soley based on the marinade for the meat since I didn't follow the rest of the recipe.** The Outback Steakhouse here in Daegu, South Korea serves a dish called Kakadu Griller and the main ingredient is a galbi marinated steak. The marinade from this recipe tastes just like that! So I used bulgogi style cut steak and marinaded the steak for a couple hours. I then coated the bottom of a cast iron skillet with sesame seed oil, dumped in all of the steak with some of the marinade and let it come to a boil until the steak was thoroughly cooked. I then served it on top of white rice and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shasta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
All I can say is thank you! My husband loves this dish and I've been hard pressed to find a recipe that he likes. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
This looks awesome, does anybody know where to get stone bowls?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was SO much better than I was expecting. I used 1/4 cup of soy sauce, 1/4 cup of each sugar and a little bit of honey for the marinade with the green onions, garlic and sesame seeds (1 pound of meat) and it was PERFECT. I could have eaten the meat alone! I then used carrots, spinach, cucumbers, mushrooms, and peppers for the veggies. For a pepper sauce, I used Srirachi pepper sauce. I also cooked the rice in a rice cooker and then pressed "cook" again after it was finished to crisp up the bottom rice for about 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I usually don't find bibimbap recipes that use brown sugar. This is an interesting addition. I think next time I may try this, just to see what the taste differenc e is. Otherwise, this seems like the usual bibimbap recipe that is always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sukiyaki

Watch Yasuko make soul-warming Japanese sukiyaki.

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States