Doggy Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Thank you emnd1204 for reviewing my recipe. The original recipe called for 2 pieces of bread. I did not specify "white" bread. I left this up to the cook. Personally I haven't eaten white bread since I was a child. I prefer whole wheat myself. If you consider the recipe ingredients you will see that it contains 1 cup of rolled oats and 1 cup of wheat germ. Also in the original recipe, the vegetables that surrounded the loaves were mashed prior to placing in the storage containers to allow for easier digestion. My dogs always picked at these and often left them uneaten. The recipe was changed by the editors when they reviewed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe, has all of my dog's favorite things in it!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Going by my dogs' reactions, this was a 5 star recipe! The only changes I made after reading other reviews was I boiled and mashed the potato and added it in the mix and I added cooked brown rice instead of the oats and wheat germ. I didn't cook the pieces of potato, carrots and celery around the sides. Also, I did mine in two regular-sized muffin tins sprayed with cooking spray for about 50 min. I'll be freezing all the extras. The dogs sure loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
My dog really loves this. I started cooking all his food, except for the kibble. I feel a lot better about what kind of care he is getting now. The changes I made to the recipe were to use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground pork. I just went ahead and grated the apple too, and instead of using potatoes, I used turnips, and instead of cubing them, I grated them too. I did not do the last step and add the big pieces of celery and carrot. I thought that was a little too much. All in all, it's not too much work, and the results are well worth it. Give the recipe a try, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
As always, so happy to see dog-oriented recipes. My dog was not crazy about the vegetables that were cooked on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I also uses over cooked brown rice instead of bread and wheat germ. Also I have to cook and mash the veggies before i add to the meat or the dog will pick them out. and then I bake in loaf pans. oh i forgot I use chopped cheerios insteat of rolled oats. My poodle loves it. I don't add any other dog food to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
My dogs love this and lap it up in seconds! I do change a few things to their liking, but nothing important enough to mention. :) I always make this when I make meatloaf for my family (seperate recipes, obviously). I also freeze the leftovers and give it to them a week or so later. Thanks for the great recipe! My dogs thank you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've made this twice for my two dogs. They love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe for years as my old dog got quite fussy before the end. She couldn't smell her food anymore so the addition of garlic helped and she just had to have her tomatoes or tomato sauce. I also pureed the veggies as she was picky and pushed them aside if it was one of her fussy days. I froze the leftovers and left a few in the fridge for a few days. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND LABELLING THIS IN SEVERAL LANGUAGES ''' FOR THE DOG ''' There is nothing in here that is harmful to people. Good thing. The significant other packed it for lunch with some left over pasta..... Didn't come home barking (at least not more than usual) so it was okay. Never mentioned that it was for the dog.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
good recipe..changed the oats and white bread to brown rice, ground beef to ground turkey and pureed the vegies before adding to muffin tins....cheaper than canned food and so much better for them...I have three weims...1 needs to gain and 2 need to lose weight....works both ways with the proper kibble...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States