Doggy Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Good recipe to start making your dog's food from scratch. I substituted cooked brown rice for the bread and wheat germ and swapped potato for yams. There's no nutritional value in white bread - that was an absurd suggestion by the editors. I also added 2 cloves garlic - just learned recently that garlic is good for dogs in very small amounts. Also, instead of making the logs (and therefore, a mess), I baked the meatloaf using a 12-cup muffin tin, spraying it with olive oil first. Then you have neat little servings already portioned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I changed the preparation method of this recipe, but did not tamper with the ingredients, which my dog loved. I found that if i served the vegetables on the side as stated in the recipe, that my dog either picked them out, or ate them and did not digest them fully (ask me how I know...). So I just put all the vegetables called for in the food processor and chopped them very finely, then mixed with the rest of the ingredients and proceeded as directed in the recipe. Nothing picked out this time! My dog ate up the whole thing. My dog is old...15 years old...so maybe some of those vegetables were too hard to chew, maybe her digestion isn't as efficient as it used to be, but whatever the reason, changing the preparation as I did worked for us. If you have an older or picky dog I recommend you try this. Also, I always add some flaxseed oil and some ground flaxseed to this before I serve it. It's great for the coat, and helps dogs with arthritis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
Thank you emnd1204 for reviewing my recipe. The original recipe called for 2 pieces of bread. I did not specify "white" bread. I left this up to the cook. Personally I haven't eaten white bread since I was a child. I prefer whole wheat myself. If you consider the recipe ingredients you will see that it contains 1 cup of rolled oats and 1 cup of wheat germ. Also in the original recipe, the vegetables that surrounded the loaves were mashed prior to placing in the storage containers to allow for easier digestion. My dogs always picked at these and often left them uneaten. The recipe was changed by the editors when they reviewed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Going by my dogs' reactions, this was a 5 star recipe! The only changes I made after reading other reviews was I boiled and mashed the potato and added it in the mix and I added cooked brown rice instead of the oats and wheat germ. I didn't cook the pieces of potato, carrots and celery around the sides. Also, I did mine in two regular-sized muffin tins sprayed with cooking spray for about 50 min. I'll be freezing all the extras. The dogs sure loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
My dogs love this and lap it up in seconds! I do change a few things to their liking, but nothing important enough to mention. :) I always make this when I make meatloaf for my family (seperate recipes, obviously). I also freeze the leftovers and give it to them a week or so later. Thanks for the great recipe! My dogs thank you, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
My dog really loves this. I started cooking all his food, except for the kibble. I feel a lot better about what kind of care he is getting now. The changes I made to the recipe were to use 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 ground pork. I just went ahead and grated the apple too, and instead of using potatoes, I used turnips, and instead of cubing them, I grated them too. I did not do the last step and add the big pieces of celery and carrot. I thought that was a little too much. All in all, it's not too much work, and the results are well worth it. Give the recipe a try, you will like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
good recipe..changed the oats and white bread to brown rice, ground beef to ground turkey and pureed the vegies before adding to muffin tins....cheaper than canned food and so much better for them...I have three weims...1 needs to gain and 2 need to lose weight....works both ways with the proper kibble...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I think this is a great recipe although I would prefer something not as time consuming, and I have no problem adding a slice of white bread - it's not that bad considering the other ingredients; and when I look at the list of ingredients on the dog food label white bread is OK to me: however, my pup doesnt seem to like wheat germ or anything connected to tomatoes - so next time I wont put in the tomato flavouring. (too bad I didnt know til after I made it) She loves boiled beets - go figure!! :-) ps I wouldnt put the veggies around the loaves either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe, has all of my dog's favorite things in it!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is nice but you don't have to cook it....I have been feeding our dogs a raw diet for years at the advice of our vet. They do just fine, smell great, have beautiful coats and tons of energy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States