Doggy Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
not trying to be mean or anything, but you put quite a few things in there that dogs are allergic to. they cant have grains and corn and especially not wheat germ, let alone bread because it will make their skin react and become dry AND oily and your dog will be miserable. Trust me, I know from experience. this isnt just for some dogs, this is the species in general. if you want to give your dog a treat, just give them a carrot, an apple slice, a pear slice. they will beg for it more than canned food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fowler Kristen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It's been about six months since we started using this recipe..we run all the ingredients, except the meat, through a food processor. Mix it all together and throw it in a 9X13 dish for an hour. Because we have such a little dog (4lbs) this amount lasts quite a long time. I cut it up into portion sizes and freeze it to use as needed. We switch things up a little depending on what's in the house. I have used cooked quinoa or brown rice sometimes and added a little pumpkin puree once. He seems to prefer ground turkey to ground beef. His health is wonderful, his coat soft and shiny. I will never feed any dog canned food again. Thanks for a great base recipe! P.S. be sure to oil your pan esp if doing ground turkey, it is so lean it sticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I would never use white bread. Dogs need to eat healthy too.The recipe is mine only it has an apple and I use navy beans in mine with brown rice and/or sweet potatoes, and turkey and spinach as well as the carrots other listed ingredients. I make one giant meatloaf and freeze portions until I'm done with the one in the fridge. I have big dogs and little dogs and they all love the meatloaf. BTW, to the person who said to use garlic, it's not good for dogs at all. Onion and Garlic are toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Photo by ChefIan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I didn't add the bread and substituted sweet potatoes for the white ones. I double the recipe to 3lbs of lean chicken/beef then shred my veggies and fruit to 1 lb total for a 3-1 ratio. Then I add 1 cup of cooked whole grain brown rice and 1 cup of uncooked quick oats. I weigh each 'cupcake' to 4.5-4.8 oz each then press into the muffin tin. I feed half a cupcake at each meal, with regular kibble. This real food is easily digested, will not upset puppy's tummy at all and will greatly enhance their eating experience. My dog Princess LOVES IT. She doesn't shed as much, has great energy and is maintaining a healthy weight. Exercise, as always, is important:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe for years as my old dog got quite fussy before the end. She couldn't smell her food anymore so the addition of garlic helped and she just had to have her tomatoes or tomato sauce. I also pureed the veggies as she was picky and pushed them aside if it was one of her fussy days. I froze the leftovers and left a few in the fridge for a few days. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND LABELLING THIS IN SEVERAL LANGUAGES ''' FOR THE DOG ''' There is nothing in here that is harmful to people. Good thing. The significant other packed it for lunch with some left over pasta..... Didn't come home barking (at least not more than usual) so it was okay. Never mentioned that it was for the dog.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I also uses over cooked brown rice instead of bread and wheat germ. Also I have to cook and mash the veggies before i add to the meat or the dog will pick them out. and then I bake in loaf pans. oh i forgot I use chopped cheerios insteat of rolled oats. My poodle loves it. I don't add any other dog food to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've made this twice for my two dogs. They love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is nice but you don't have to cook it....I have been feeding our dogs a raw diet for years at the advice of our vet. They do just fine, smell great, have beautiful coats and tons of energy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
good recipe..changed the oats and white bread to brown rice, ground beef to ground turkey and pureed the vegies before adding to muffin tins....cheaper than canned food and so much better for them...I have three weims...1 needs to gain and 2 need to lose weight....works both ways with the proper kibble...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
As always, so happy to see dog-oriented recipes. My dog was not crazy about the vegetables that were cooked on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States