Doggy Meatloaf with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I would never use white bread. Dogs need to eat healthy too.The recipe is mine only it has an apple and I use navy beans in mine with brown rice and/or sweet potatoes, and turkey and spinach as well as the carrots other listed ingredients. I make one giant meatloaf and freeze portions until I'm done with the one in the fridge. I have big dogs and little dogs and they all love the meatloaf. BTW, to the person who said to use garlic, it's not good for dogs at all. Onion and Garlic are toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Photo by ChefIan
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I didn't add the bread and substituted sweet potatoes for the white ones. I double the recipe to 3lbs of lean chicken/beef then shred my veggies and fruit to 1 lb total for a 3-1 ratio. Then I add 1 cup of cooked whole grain brown rice and 1 cup of uncooked quick oats. I weigh each 'cupcake' to 4.5-4.8 oz each then press into the muffin tin. I feed half a cupcake at each meal, with regular kibble. This real food is easily digested, will not upset puppy's tummy at all and will greatly enhance their eating experience. My dog Princess LOVES IT. She doesn't shed as much, has great energy and is maintaining a healthy weight. Exercise, as always, is important:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I have made this recipe for years as my old dog got quite fussy before the end. She couldn't smell her food anymore so the addition of garlic helped and she just had to have her tomatoes or tomato sauce. I also pureed the veggies as she was picky and pushed them aside if it was one of her fussy days. I froze the leftovers and left a few in the fridge for a few days. I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND LABELLING THIS IN SEVERAL LANGUAGES ''' FOR THE DOG ''' There is nothing in here that is harmful to people. Good thing. The significant other packed it for lunch with some left over pasta..... Didn't come home barking (at least not more than usual) so it was okay. Never mentioned that it was for the dog.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I also uses over cooked brown rice instead of bread and wheat germ. Also I have to cook and mash the veggies before i add to the meat or the dog will pick them out. and then I bake in loaf pans. oh i forgot I use chopped cheerios insteat of rolled oats. My poodle loves it. I don't add any other dog food to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've made this twice for my two dogs. They love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is nice but you don't have to cook it....I have been feeding our dogs a raw diet for years at the advice of our vet. They do just fine, smell great, have beautiful coats and tons of energy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
good recipe..changed the oats and white bread to brown rice, ground beef to ground turkey and pureed the vegies before adding to muffin tins....cheaper than canned food and so much better for them...I have three weims...1 needs to gain and 2 need to lose weight....works both ways with the proper kibble...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
As always, so happy to see dog-oriented recipes. My dog was not crazy about the vegetables that were cooked on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I think this is a great recipe although I would prefer something not as time consuming, and I have no problem adding a slice of white bread - it's not that bad considering the other ingredients; and when I look at the list of ingredients on the dog food label white bread is OK to me: however, my pup doesnt seem to like wheat germ or anything connected to tomatoes - so next time I wont put in the tomato flavouring. (too bad I didnt know til after I made it) She loves boiled beets - go figure!! :-) ps I wouldnt put the veggies around the loaves either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is a great recipe, has all of my dog's favorite things in it!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States