Doggie Treats II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made these 3 times; all 3 times I found myself tripping over dogs in the kitchen! Friends' dogs like them, too. I like to give them to the dogs because I know what's in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
5 Paws up, My Four legged friend who did not care for any of the two other doggie treat recipes we have tried, loves loves these!!!! She kept coming back for more. We did not have Chicken bouillon so we used the powder from a chicken gravy mix. We also substituted at tsp of honey for the tsp of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
My Patterdale Terrier loves these. I'm not too keen on giving him refined sugar, so I used about a 1/2 tablespoon of pure honey instead. I added 3 or 4 tablespoons of dried parsley to half the dough in an attempt to curb some of his puppy breath. It didn't seem to work (fresh parsley might be more effective), but he really likes the flavor of those too. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
My dog LOVES these treats. I modified it a little. I used brown sugar instead of white, and I used wheat germ instead of cornmeal. But she goes nuts for these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I am making these right now, and my dog has been at my feet since I started. She loves the dough, so far, and I know she is going to love the finished product. I cut the pieces into smaller squares with a pizza cutter because I don't have a dog-bone cookie cutter yet. I am glad I came across the recipe because I had all of the ingredients on-hand and am sick of buying over-priced treats at the store. I also love the idea you gave of giving these as a gift with a cookie cutter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
These came out nice and were easy to make but, as another reviewer said, the dough was a little to moist to mold. I added a bit more flour and it came out nice. My dogs loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Lance, my pooch, loved these. I made them as Christmas gifts for everyone I know that owns a dog. They do not, as others have said, have a large shelf life. The were easy to make and seemed to be liked by the furry friends. I didn't try them myself :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This recipe is great, and very easy. Instead of plain cornmeal I used a jiffy mix that I had a on hand. My mixture was a little moist so I needed to add additional flour. Other than these few small changes this recipe is fantastic as is. My german shepherd loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
My dog really loved these.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I didn't have corn meal but I had light and flufy corn bread - I used 1 1/2 cups cornbread pereed in the blender and 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour. I didn't have cheddar but I had a mexican mix of cheese which included cheddar and asiago and monterey jack. I used more than a cup of cheese -about 1 1/2 cups. My litlte Shih Tzu Cuddles liked the batter and couldn't wait til these treats were done. My Amazon parrot also likes them. I tasted them. They taste almost like a cheese straw. I'll never buy treats made in China again. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Delicious Dog Treats

Your dog will love these nutritious treats, which are easy to make.

Super Simple Sweet Potato Dog Treats

Save money making your own dog treats from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States