Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
If you cut the amount of water down to 1/2 cup, this is a five-star recipe, according to my Merry! She really loves these biscuits, and I feel good knowing what goes into them. I just made my second batch, and used beef broth instead of water and added a little crushed garlic for flea control. Will experiment with using bacon grease for part or all of the oil next time. i also agree that the 2 Tablespoons of vanilla may be excessive, i cut that to 2 teaspoons. This does make a lot, and since Merry is a small dog, I cut the recipe in half. Still made 75 small biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMY3600

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Booneville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
After reading all the other reviews, I used 1/4 c veg oil and 1/4 c bacon fat in place of canola oil. I also added 3 Tbls of honey, cooked them on non stick cookie sheets which eliminted greasing the pans and also found if you cooked them at 350 degrees for 12-15 min. They came out great. Our fussy dogs loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This was a waste of a good afternoon! What a mushy mess! There is way too much liquid called for in this recipe. After reading the other reviews that used only 1/2 c. water instead of 1-1/2 cups, I'm willing to give them another try. After so many failed attempts with recipes from this site, you'd think I'd know better and read the reviews first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I didn't read the reviews until after I found the dough more of a batter, but I just tossed in flour and oats till it was workable, and it cooked up very easily. These also make a good gift in a jar for the animal lover in your list. Just increase the recipe by about 1/4, and the dry ingredients fit nicely into a wide-mouth quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These are excellent doggie biscuits. I think rather than following the water, you should focus on the as needed part. Mine took more than 1/2 cups, but no more than 3/4. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoirJet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
My dog loved these biscuits! She gave them as a Christmas gift to her best friend next door. Some of the other users had an issue with the amount of water used. The recipe does say "as needed". I added all the other wet ingredients first and found that I didn't need any water at all. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
These come out great! I made them to sell at a dog walk-a-thon for the shelter I volunteer at. The dogs loved them. After following the advice of the others, I only added 1/2 cup of water. That is the correct amount! The dough forms and cuts easily and bakes up just like a biscuit. I tasted one myself and it wasn't bad. I was a bit wary of the 2 Tbsp of vanilla extract (that seems like an awful lot) so next time I'll use 2 tsp and see how they come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wrentham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
My dogs absolutely love these treats. I use chunky peanut butter and cut down on the water. Use seasonal cookie cutters for gifts for the doggies in your life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Albion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
While I followed the recipe exactly as written, the dough was not even close to being of a consistency to be able to roll it out. I used the drop method. Also, I am assuming they need to be refridgerated since they became moldy after a few days. The dogs did love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Maybe a transcription error happened. Too much water in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States