Doggie Biscuits I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These dog biscuits make a wonderful treat for your dog or an awesome Holiday gift for your family's and friends' dogs. Find a pretty cookie tin, decorative box, or even a small bag to use as a stocking stuffer. I used a little less than 3/4 cup water for the perfect consistency to roll out and cut. Ended up with 58 small biscuits and 26 large. I like to print a copy of the recipe to include with the gift just so everybody knows what ingredients are used (and in case they want to replenish the dog cookie jar after they're gone). Trust me, this will be a gift everybody will remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Make sure you start with using only 3/4 cup water, NOT 1 1/2! Lucy, our Boston loved these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucy16076
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I changed it up a bit.. 1/2 cup water vs the 11/2cups and 1/2c bacon drippings and crumbled bacon instead of the canola oil. My puppy loves them as a special treat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This came out great as a starting point. I read some of the reviews and decided to tweak things quite a bit. I am concerned about wheat and corn allergies so I instead used 2 1/2c rice flour and 1/2 cup flax seeds for the wheat flours and corn meal. Then I subtracted a bit of the water down to 3/4C, I added an egg because the dough seemed a bit 'mealy' and took out the oil altogether, instead upping the PB to 1/2C. They took about 13 minutes in a 400 degree oven to cook and my dogs loved them. Nice crispy texture when baked, and the resulting dough was easy to work with when rolling and cutting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawiccewoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bennettsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My 2 dogs love these. Either made following the recipe with the reduction of water to 1/2 cup or if I decide to play with it. Sometimes have used chicken broth instead of water and left out the peanut butter and vanilla and added a bit of garlic powder. Very flexible recipe. I always leave out the cornmeal and increase the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used only 1 cup of water and as I mixed it I added little handfuls of flour. It turned out great! I got more than two dozen per recipe! Im going to go to the store next time and buy carob chips and dip the cookies in it for an added treat! Christmas Presents!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsedwardcullen215

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
My puppy will eat anything at any time, but this is something he will snag behind My back! He loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
As others mentioned, the listed water amount is excessive. About 1/2 cup water yields an ideal consistency; the dough rolls out effortlessly and doesn't stick at all. I rolled mine out to roughly 1/4 inch thickness before cutting into bone shapes. This made 32 fairly large dog treats. 20 minutes was perfect; they were cooked until completely dry but not burnt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have seen a similar recipe elsewhere and it was 1/2 C water. Maybe she just did a typo. I made these with chicken broth instead of water. My only problem was that they started to get way too brown in oven after turning off heat (by 5 minutes). They seem to do just fine at only 5 minutes. I turned my oven down to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are excellent dog treats with some adjustment - as previous reviewers noted, decrease the water to 1/2 cup. When I also thought they turned out way too greasy with 1/2 cup of oil, so second time I baked them, I decreased the oil to 1/2 cup, and the treats turned out perfect. Two paws up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Peanut Butter Banana Dog Biscuits

Your dog is sure to love these biscuits, made with peanut butter and banana.

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States