Doggie Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by hotpinktiffie
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I used this recipe for my Bella's first birthday. I baked it in a 6" pan for about 30 minutes. I only added about 2 tblsp of raw organic honey instead of the 1/3 cup and added in about 2 tblsp of water to thin it out a bit as it was more a cookie dough consistency. It's really important to spread it to an even thickness because the batter is rather thick and lumpy. I frosted the cake with one package of fat free cream cheese mixed with 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tbsp raw organic honey. Bella loved it! We also shared with her brother and cousins and everyone loved it. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotpinktiffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We have 3 boxers and I make cupcakes with this recipe rather than a cake as a treat for them. They can not get enough of them! I also make a bit of icing mixing honey and peanut butter then decorate with a little shredded carrot on top. I also make a cake on their birthdays and they all have a bit each! such a great recipe I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I made this recipe for my labrador Knox's first birthday. I used a whole banana in place of an egg for added flavor and to keep the moisture (I don't particularly like eggs and didn't want to waste a carton for one recipe). Instead of making it into a cake, I used a mini cupcake pan and it made 24 perfect little balls and I only had to cook them for about 15 minutes. I decided to freeze them before I gave them as a treat for an extra little bonus (especially in the hot summer we're having). My dog loved them and I will be making more in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIIITTTTIIIEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made this for my puggle and she loved it. Not to mention, since all ingredients were edible, we decided we must have a taste too. And low and behold..it was actually pretty delicious!! No wonder she loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Greenough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Peggy
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Baked for pawmates 2 weeks ago. Doggies loved them wuff much. Will bake another batch soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Made this and my 3 dogs LOVED them. They kept looking at me and pawing for more! I tweaked the recipe a little bit. Instead of the 1 cup of skim I used 1/2 cup of almond milk and a 1/2 cup of chicken broth. I also shredded some cheese into it. Followed all the directions and came out awesome :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I didn't have carrots, but I mashed a can of sliced yams and added that to the mixture. It took maybe 20 mins as cupcakes instead of 40 mins. I added whipped cream cheese as frosting with cinnamon as garnish. My dogs inhaled them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Stuckey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
can you make this a few days in advance and put in fridge? my baby's birthday is Tuesday and with working it's hard to find time to make it when I get home, so wanted to make it tomorrow evening and was wondering if it will keep for 2 days?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolly Ulica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I just tried this recipe and my dogs loved it. The cake did turn out a little overbaked but maybe that was my fault using a heart cake tin. The dogs certainly didn't notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Sellens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I added a mashed bananna and used molasses instead of honey & I made them into 4 giant Pupcakes! Smelled soooo good cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States