Doggie Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I like dog treats that you can actually see what's in them. This is perfect. I did put my own twist on this recipe and my dog loved it. Instead of any flour, I ground up Wheat Chex (same amount as the flour called for), which gave a really nice texture to the mix, and instead of oil, I used extra-chunky, unsweetened applesauce from Trader Joe's. I also used a sugar and salt-free peanut butter, figuring there would be enough sweet in it (and salt they don't need), and used about 1/2 the honey. Instead of a single pan, I used a mini-muffin tin, and one batch yielded about 22 of the treats. I even tried these, and I'll say, they aren't too bad at all--decent flavors, decent texture, and they hold together really nicely. A little on the bland side, but for a dog and their hyper smell and taste, they are beyond good. At least my Dougan thinks so. Same oven (350), spraying the pan with a cooking spray (wiping and respraying the pan out between batches), baked in the tin for 12-15 minutes. Cool a little in the pan and they should just pop out. I put them in a zip-lock bag, and they kept for a good week just on the counter. Today, I'm quadrupling the batch to make little goody-bags to take to friend's homes for holiday parties that have a pup. I think they will be well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
My Coco loves this recipe! I make these into cupcakes for her Birthday and we share them with all her friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Simple and easy and my dogs love it!! I made it for my Shih Tzu's 10th birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah Love

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
It was our black Lab's Bear's Birthday. The cake didn't, turn out as good as it could have been. We had no carrots and I did not think to add frosting but our dogs pratically devoured the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Puppy turned 1 today! Made 7 cupcakes with the recipe. We warmed up some creamy peanut butter to use as frosting, and sprinkled with a few of our dog's favorite treats! He loved the cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by red2blackashes
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Turned out great! Can't wait for my pup to try it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
#Stellapuppy loved the cake and would have eaten it all in one sitting if I would have let her!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Schrieber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Baked this for my dog's 3rd birthday. So easy and simple. She went crazy for this! She loved it so much I decided to keep this recipe and make treats out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I made this cake for my dog last year, and he LOVED it. I used peanut butter for the "frosting." After he got a sniff, he was so excited to eat his birthday cake- it was the cutest thing. His birthday is actually tomorrow on Halloween, and I'm making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Skylar Starr
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Made this for my babys birthday yesterday he luved it & so did his lil friend... they ate it rite up... i also tried some it was actually good.. I made a peanut butter & yogurt frosting for the top came out great! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylar Starr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Doggie Biscuits I

Please your pooch with easy, top-rated doggie treats.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States